Parliament Website

Sainsbury's And The Fairtrade Mark

EDM number 142 in 2017-18, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 06/07/2017.

That this House deeply regrets the decision by the supermarket Sainsbury's to drop the Fairtrade mark for its own-brand tea and develop its own certification scheme; notes that the Fairtrade Foundation is a respected organisation and part of a global network that strives to ensure that farmers and workers in developing countries get a better deal for their produce; considers the distinctive and globally-recognised Fairtrade mark to be synonymous with ethical trade and quality for UK consumers; further notes that, in 2015, the UK Fairtrade market was worth an estimated £1.6 billion in retail sales, generating an estimated £29.8 million in Fairtrade Premium, a communal fund for workers and farmers to use, as they see fit, to improve their social, economic and environmental conditions; notes that the Fairtrade Standard protects workers' basic rights, including ensuring a safe working environment, the right to join a trade union and negotiate with their employer on wages and conditions, and prohibits discrimination and forced or illegal child labour; considers the Fairtrade Foundation to have a proven track record over 25 years of making a real and significant difference to the lives of farmers and workers, and of supporting better farming, strong cooperatives and investment in collective assets to improve crops and yields; and urges other supermarkets to remain with and strengthen their commitment to Fairtrade certification.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Caroline Lucas06/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Peter Bottomley06/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Catherine McKinnell06/07/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSeconded
Chris Law06/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Tom Brake06/07/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Hywel Williams06/07/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Jon Cruddas06/07/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Norman Lamb06/07/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
06/07/2017Plymouth, Sutton and DevonportLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Drew Hendry06/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day06/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford06/07/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald06/07/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard06/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas06/07/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil06/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
06/07/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gray06/07/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
06/07/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss06/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Edward Davey06/07/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron06/07/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
06/07/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
06/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins06/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson06/07/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Green06/07/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Patrick Grady06/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Drew06/07/2017Signed
Stephen Doughty06/07/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
06/07/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/07/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards06/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
06/07/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Wes Streeting06/07/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns06/07/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
06/07/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart06/07/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn06/07/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Lefroy06/07/2017StaffordConservativeSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.