Parliament Website

Sound Amplification In The Chamber

EDM number 1130 in 1989-90, proposed by Clifford Forsythe on 19/06/1990.

That this House believes that Right honourable and honourable Members have an entitlement equal to that of television viewers; and demands that the standard of amplification be restored to that which existed prior to the commencement of the television experiment with the object of restoring the concept of a debating chamber, an essential requirement of which is that Right honourable and honourable Members should be permitted to hear all questions, interventions and speeches.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Clifford Forsythe19/06/1990South AntrimProposed
James Molyneaux19/06/1990Lagan ValleySigned
Stephen Day19/06/1990CheadleSigned
Margaret Ewing19/06/1990MoraySigned
Dafydd Elis Thomas19/06/1990Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Jacques Arnold20/06/1990GraveshamSigned
Terry Davis20/06/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
John Cummings20/06/1990EasingtonSigned
Ian Paisley20/06/1990North AntrimSigned
David Knox20/06/1990Staffordshire MoorlandsSigned
Jack Thompson21/06/1990WansbeckSigned
Llin Golding21/06/1990Newcastle-under-LymeSigned
Keith Bradley21/06/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Gordon Oakes21/06/1990HaltonSigned
William McCrea21/06/1990Mid UlsterSigned
Peter Hardy21/06/1990WentworthSigned
David Evennett22/06/1990Erith and CrayfordSigned
Alun Michael25/06/1990Cardiff South & PenarthSigned
Ian McCartney26/06/1990MakerfieldSigned
Norman Godman26/06/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Douglas French26/06/1990GloucesterSigned
Andrew Faulds03/07/1990Warley EastSigned
Martyn Jones06/09/1990Clwyd South WestSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.