Parliament Website

Gallup Telephone Poll Of Honourable Members

EDM number 121 in 1989-90, proposed by John McFall on 30/11/1989.

That this House takes note that the present Gallup telephone poll of honourable Members is structured in order to deceive honourable Members into thinking that it is about matters associated with the televising of the House, but it is aware of the comments of the Managing Director of Gallup in the Palace of Westminster on Wednesday 29th November when he stated that it was a somewhat 'naughty' exercise carried out on behalf of the European Commission; deplores this underhand approach; and seeks assurances from the President of the European Commission that in future, if the views of Westminster honourable Members are to be ascertained, then it is done so in direct contact between the Commission and Westminster honourable Members.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John McFall30/11/1989DumbartonProposed
Martyn Jones30/11/1989Clwyd South WestSigned
Michael Martin30/11/1989Glasgow, SpringburnSigned
William McKelvey30/11/1989Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Alun Michael30/11/1989Cardiff South & PenarthSigned
Elliot Morley30/11/1989Glanford and ScunthorpeSigned
Paul Murphy30/11/1989TorfaenSigned
Norman Godman30/11/1989Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Jack Thompson30/11/1989WansbeckSigned
Mike Watson30/11/1989Glasgow CentralSigned
Peter Hardy04/12/1989WentworthSigned
Bill Michie04/12/1989Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Alan Meale05/12/1989MansfieldSigned
Terry Davis05/12/1989Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Frank Cook05/12/1989Stockton NorthSigned
Roland Boyes05/12/1989Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Norman Hogg05/12/1989Cumbernauld & KilsythSigned
Harriet Harman06/12/1989PeckhamSigned
Brian Wilson06/12/1989Cunninghame NorthSigned
Harry Barnes06/12/1989North East DerbyshireSigned
Hilary Armstrong06/12/1989North West DurhamSigned
Win Griffiths06/12/1989BridgendSigned
Derek Fatchett06/12/1989Leeds CentralSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie06/12/1989Glasgow, PollokSigned
Frank Doran06/12/1989Aberdeen SouthSigned
Alistair Darling06/12/1989Edinburgh CentralSigned
John Cummings06/12/1989EasingtonSigned
Jim Cousins06/12/1989Newcastle upon Tyne CentralSigned
Tom Clarke06/12/1989Monklands WestSigned
Rhodri Morgan06/12/1989Cardiff WestSigned
Henry McLeish06/12/1989Central FifeSigned
Thomas McAvoy06/12/1989Glasgow, RutherglenSigned
Geoffrey Lofthouse06/12/1989Pontefract & CastlefordSigned
Andrew Smith06/12/1989Oxford EastSigned
Giles Radice06/12/1989North DurhamSigned
Max Madden06/12/1989Bradford WestSigned
Doug Hoyle07/12/1989Warrington NorthSigned
Harry Cohen07/12/1989LeytonSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/12/1989Islington NorthSigned
Alexander Eadie07/12/1989MidlothianSigned
Norman BuchanUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.