Parliament Website

Time Limit On Speeches

EDM number 123 in 1989-90, proposed by Graham Allen on 30/11/1989.

That this House calls upon the Procedure Committee to examine the possibility of all speeches in debate (other than the opening and closing speeches of the Front Bench) being limited to ten minutes in length, at the Speaker's discretion, (excluding interventions up to a maximum of an additional five minutes in order to encourage genuine debate across the Floor) for all honourable and Right honourable Members.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Graham Allen30/11/1989Nottingham NorthProposed
Norman Godman01/12/1989Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
David Atkinson01/12/1989Bournemouth EastSigned
Harry Barnes01/12/1989North East DerbyshireSigned
Ian Bruce04/12/1989South DorsetSigned
John Cummings04/12/1989EasingtonSigned
Spencer Batiste04/12/1989ElmetSigned
Maria Fyfe05/12/1989Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Peter Griffiths05/12/1989Portsmouth NorthSigned
James Wray05/12/1989Glasgow ProvanSigned
Terry Patchett06/12/1989Barnsley EastSigned
Tony Lloyd06/12/1989StretfordSigned
Barry Porter07/12/1989Wirral SouthSigned
Doug Hoyle07/12/1989Warrington NorthSigned
Diane Abbott08/12/1989Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
Tim Rathbone11/12/1989LewesSigned
Cecil Walker12/12/1989Belfast NorthSigned
Keith Raffan14/12/1989DelynSigned
George Galloway14/12/1989Glasgow HillheadSigned
Joan Ruddock20/12/1989Lewisham, DeptfordSigned
Tony Worthington20/12/1989Clydebank & MilngavieSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.