Parliament Website

Poll Tax Demonstration, Violence And The Media

EDM number 1436 in 1989-90, proposed by Richard Shepherd on 22/10/1990.

That this House deplores the violent 'poll tax' demonstration that took place in London on 20th October; expresses concern that for the second time in 12 months demonstrations have been allowed to disrupt the peace in the capital city, leading to injury and arrest; is surprised and dismayed at reports that both the BBC and ITN have so far refused to release untransmitted film to the police; and calls upon all honourable and Right honourable Members of this House unreservedly to condemn the violence and all sections of the Press to co-operate fully and willingly with the authorities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Richard Shepherd22/10/1990Aldridge-BrownhillsProposed
Robert Hughes22/10/1990Harrow WestSigned
George Walden22/10/1990BuckinghamSigned
Donald Thompson22/10/1990Calder ValleySigned
Robert Boscawen22/10/1990Somerton & FromeSigned
John Hannam22/10/1990ExeterSigned
Harry Greenway22/10/1990Ealing NorthSigned
Anthony Grant22/10/1990Cambridge South WestSigned
Roger Gale22/10/1990North ThanetSigned
Peter Emery22/10/1990HonitonSigned
Bob Dunn22/10/1990DartfordSigned
Michael Carttiss22/10/1990Great YarmouthSigned
Nicholas Budgen22/10/1990Wolverhampton South WestSigned
Malcolm Moss22/10/1990North East CambridgeshireSigned
Iain Mills22/10/1990MeridenSigned
Tony Marlow22/10/1990Northampton NorthSigned
Humfrey Malins22/10/1990Croydon North WestSigned
Jill Knight22/10/1990Birmingham, EdgbastonSigned
Michael Jopling22/10/1990Westmorland & LonsdaleSigned
Toby Jessel22/10/1990TwickenhamSigned
Timothy Devlin22/10/1990Stockton SouthSigned
David Knox23/10/1990Staffordshire MoorlandsSigned
Nicholas Winterton23/10/1990MacclesfieldSigned
John Blackburn23/10/1990Dudley WestSigned
David Atkinson23/10/1990Bournemouth EastSigned
Jacques Arnold23/10/1990GraveshamSigned
Jeremy Hanley23/10/1990Richmond and BarnesSigned
Patrick Nicholls23/10/1990TeignbridgeSigned
Colin Shepherd23/10/1990HerefordSigned
Graham Riddick23/10/1990Colne ValleySigned
Vivian Bendall25/10/1990Ilford NorthSigned
Trevor Skeet29/10/1990Bedfordshire NorthSigned
Julian Brazier29/10/1990CanterburySigned
David Evans29/10/1990Welwyn HatfieldSigned
Ivan Lawrence30/10/1990BurtonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.