Parliament Website

Pilot Whales

EDM number 1447 in 1989-90, proposed by Simon Hughes on 24/10/1990.

That this House abhors the continuing policy of the Government of the Faeroe Islands to allow the inhumane slaughter of pilot whales; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government to bring pressure to bear on the Prime Minister of the Faeroes, Mr Jogvan Sundstein, to ban forthwith this barbaric practice, for which there are no sound economic grounds.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Simon Hughes24/10/1990Southwark and BermondseyProposed
Archy Kirkwood24/10/1990Roxburgh & BerwickshireSigned
Malcolm Bruce24/10/1990GordonSigned
Matthew Taylor24/10/1990TruroSigned
Gerry Steinberg25/10/1990Durham, City ofSigned
Andrew Faulds25/10/1990Warley EastSigned
Eric Illsley25/10/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe26/10/1990LeighSigned
John Evans26/10/1990St Helens NorthSigned
James Wray29/10/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
John Battle29/10/1990Leeds WestSigned
Tony Banks29/10/1990Newham North WestSigned
Norman Godman29/10/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Alan Meale30/10/1990MansfieldSigned
Tom Cox30/10/1990TootingSigned
John Cummings30/10/1990EasingtonSigned
Ronnie Fearn30/10/1990SouthportSigned
Russell Johnston31/10/1990Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSigned
Win Griffiths31/10/1990BridgendSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.