Parliament Website

Nancy Astor's Seventieth Anniversary

EDM number 16 in 1989-90, proposed by Marion Roe on 21/11/1989.

That this House recognises the seventieth anniversary on 1st December of the late Nancy Astor, the first woman to enter this House, taking her seat; records its appreciation of the valuable contributions made to the work of this House by the 139 women elected since that date; and further recognises the tenth anniversary in 1990 of the forming of the 300 Group and looks to it to continue its efforts to encourage more women into public life and this House.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Marion Roe21/11/1989BroxbourneProposed
Elizabeth Peacock21/11/1989Batley & SpenSigned
Kate Hoey21/11/1989VauxhallSigned
Ray Michie21/11/1989Argyll & ButeSigned
Mo Mowlam21/11/1989RedcarSigned
Emma Nicholson21/11/1989Torridge & West DevonSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody21/11/1989Crewe & NantwichSigned
Margaret Ewing21/11/1989MoraySigned
Peggy Fenner21/11/1989MedwaySigned
Janet Fookes21/11/1989Plymouth DrakeSigned
Llin Golding21/11/1989Newcastle-under-LymeSigned
Teresa Gorman21/11/1989BillericaySigned
Hilary Armstrong21/11/1989North West DurhamSigned
Jeremy Hanley22/11/1989Richmond and BarnesSigned
Ronnie Fearn22/11/1989SouthportSigned
Tim Rathbone22/11/1989LewesSigned
Clare Short22/11/1989Birmingham, LadywoodSigned
Joyce Quin23/11/1989Gateshead EastSigned
Greville Janner23/11/1989Leicester WestSigned
David Shaw27/11/1989DoverSigned
Ian Bruce27/11/1989South DorsetSigned
John Marshall28/11/1989Hendon SouthSigned
Maria Fyfe28/11/1989Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Robin Squire28/11/1989HornchurchSigned
Joan Ruddock28/11/1989Lewisham, DeptfordSigned
John Evans29/11/1989St Helens NorthSigned
Tommy Graham29/11/1989Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Win Griffiths29/11/1989BridgendSigned
Roland Boyes30/11/1989Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Ann Widdecombe01/12/1989MaidstoneSigned
Alex Carlile12/12/1989MontgomerySigned
Keith Raffan14/12/1989DelynSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.