Parliament Website

New Government Of India

EDM number 225 in 1989-90, proposed by Max Madden on 18/12/1989.

That this House congratulates Mr V. P. Singh on becoming Prime Minister of India; hopes the Prime Minister and his Government will endorse India's foreign policy of non-alignment; wishes Mr Singh and his Ministers every success in maintaining the unity of India and in tackling India's awesome problems of poverty; moreover trusts the new Government of India will combat vigorously all communal strife; applauds Mr Singh for visiting the Golden Temple and hopes that Mr Singh will strengthen international confidence in India's defence of human rights by permitting organisations of international repute, such as Amnesty International, to visit the Punjab to investigate freely and fully allegations by Sikhs of systematic persecution; finally trusts the new Indian Government will seek to improve relationships with Pakistan and to resolve the longstanding dispute with Pakistan over Kashmir on the basis of negotiation and agreement using the good offices of the United Nations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Max Madden18/12/1989Bradford WestProposed
Bob Cryer18/12/1989Bradford SouthSigned
Alan Meale19/12/1989MansfieldSigned
Terry Davis19/12/1989Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Harry Barnes19/12/1989North East DerbyshireSigned
Eddie Loyden20/12/1989Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Tom Cox20/12/1989TootingSigned
Ian Bruce08/01/1990South DorsetSigned
John Cummings08/01/1990EasingtonSigned
Jeff Rooker09/01/1990Birmingham, Perry BarrSigned
Ian McCartney09/01/1990MakerfieldSigned
Keith Bradley10/01/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Frank Cook10/01/1990Stockton NorthSigned
Norman Godman10/01/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Robert Parry11/01/1990Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Eric Illsley11/01/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Geoffrey Robinson12/03/1990Coventry North WestSigned
Mike Watson21/03/1990Glasgow CentralSigned
Harry Cohen29/03/1990LeytonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.