Parliament Website

Scientific Sanctions Against Israel

EDM number 363 in 1989-90, proposed by George Galloway on 23/01/1990.

That this House welcomes the decision of the European Parliament to suspend scientific co-operation with Israel in protest at continued violations of human rights by the occupation forces in the West Bank, Gaza and East Jerusalem; notes that the motion was put by Italian Parliamentarians following the violent attack on the peace demonstration around the Old City walls in Jerusalem; and concurs with the judgement of the Israeli newspaper, Yediot Aharanot, that 'There is no under-estimating Europe, certainly not when for the first time in our existence...Europe decides unanimously, including our best friends, to impose a sanction against us.'.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

George Galloway23/01/1990Glasgow HillheadProposed
Robert Parry24/01/1990Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Ernie Ross24/01/1990Dundee WestSigned
Tony Lloyd24/01/1990StretfordSigned
John McAllion24/01/1990Dundee EastSigned
William McKelvey24/01/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Alan Meale24/01/1990MansfieldSigned
John Cummings24/01/1990EasingtonSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie24/01/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
Harry Barnes24/01/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Audrey Wise24/01/1990PrestonSigned
James Wray24/01/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Allan Rogers25/01/1990RhonddaSigned
Mike Watson25/01/1990Glasgow CentralSigned
John Battle25/01/1990Leeds WestSigned
Maria Fyfe25/01/1990Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Eric Illsley25/01/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Jimmy Hood25/01/1990ClydesdaleSigned
Roy Hughes26/01/1990Newport EastSigned
Keith Bradley26/01/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Max Madden29/01/1990Bradford WestSigned
Alice Mahon29/01/1990HalifaxSigned
Dawn Primarolo31/01/1990Bristol SouthSigned
Andrew Faulds13/02/1990Warley EastSigned
Tommy Graham20/02/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.