Parliament Website

Release Of Nelson Mandela And The Future Of South Africa

EDM number 439 in 1989-90, proposed by Paddy Ashdown on 02/02/1990.

That this House rejoices at the decision to release Nelson Mandela and unban the African National Congress, Pan Africanist Congress, United Democratic Front Coalition and the thirty three other anti-apartheid organisations; urges the South African Government to move as quickly as possible to enable the replacement of the present constitution of the Republic of South Africa during 1990 by a constitution based on one person one vote; and calls on Her Majesty's Government and the British people to keep up economic and political pressure on South Africa until full democracy is established and all South Africans shall be truly free.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Paddy Ashdown02/02/1990YeovilProposed
Geraint Howells02/02/1990Ceredigion and Pembroke NorthSigned
Jim Wallace02/02/1990Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Matthew Taylor02/02/1990TruroSigned
David Steel02/02/1990Tweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleSigned
Alan Beith02/02/1990Berwick-upon-TweedSigned
David Alton02/02/1990Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
Ronnie Fearn02/02/1990SouthportSigned
Alex Carlile02/02/1990MontgomerySigned
Menzies Campbell02/02/1990Fife North EastSigned
Malcolm Bruce02/02/1990GordonSigned
Ray Michie02/02/1990Argyll & ButeSigned
Robert Maclennan02/02/1990Caithness and SutherlandSigned
Richard Livsey02/02/1990Brecon and RadnorSigned
Archy Kirkwood02/02/1990Roxburgh & BerwickshireSigned
Charles Kennedy02/02/1990Ross and Cromarty and SkyeSigned
Russell Johnston02/02/1990Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSigned
Simon Hughes02/02/1990Southwark and BermondseySigned
Jack Thompson13/02/1990WansbeckSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.