Parliament Website

Nelson Mandela's Release

EDM number 520 in 1989-90, proposed by Paddy Ashdown on 12/02/1990.

That this House rejoices at the release of Nelson Mandela; applauds him and thanks him for all his courage and leadership during his decades of imprisonment; affirms that true freedom will come for Nelson Mandela and all black South Africans only when apartheid is completely eliminated; and urges all politicians in South Africa and elsewhere to have this as their unswerving and no less urgent immediate goal.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Paddy Ashdown12/02/1990YeovilProposed
Geraint Howells12/02/1990Ceredigion and Pembroke NorthSigned
Jim Wallace12/02/1990Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Matthew Taylor12/02/1990TruroSigned
David Steel12/02/1990Tweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleSigned
Alan Beith12/02/1990Berwick-upon-TweedSigned
David Alton12/02/1990Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
Ronnie Fearn12/02/1990SouthportSigned
Alex Carlile12/02/1990MontgomerySigned
Menzies Campbell12/02/1990Fife North EastSigned
Malcolm Bruce12/02/1990GordonSigned
Ray Michie12/02/1990Argyll & ButeSigned
Robert Maclennan12/02/1990Caithness and SutherlandSigned
Richard Livsey12/02/1990Brecon and RadnorSigned
Archy Kirkwood12/02/1990Roxburgh & BerwickshireSigned
Charles Kennedy12/02/1990Ross and Cromarty and SkyeSigned
Russell Johnston12/02/1990Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSigned
Simon Hughes12/02/1990Southwark and BermondseySigned
Andrew Faulds13/02/1990Warley EastSigned
Tim Rathbone14/02/1990LewesSigned
Gordon Oakes14/02/1990HaltonSigned
Roland Boyes14/02/1990Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Hugh Dykes16/02/1990Harrow EastSigned
Tommy Graham20/02/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Brian Wilson20/02/1990Cunninghame NorthSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.