Parliament Website

Registration Of Lobbyists And Public Relations Firms

EDM number 582 in 1989-90, proposed by Joseph Ashton on 20/02/1990.

That this House calls on the Leader of the House to insist that all public relations firms and lobbyists must be registered and have to apply for his permission to conduct their business on parliamentary premises following the incident at 7.15 p.m. on Monday 19th February when the firm of Flashman Hillard blocked New Palace Yard with 30 empty taxis to take scores of Members to a free dinner at the Inn on the Park laid on by the Pharmaceutical Society, thereby rendering it impossible for other taxis to enter to reach the queue of other Members who had to wait 20 to 25 minutes longer than necessary because of the contemptuous way it was arranged.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Joe Ashton20/02/1990BassetlawProposed
Dennis Turner20/02/1990Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Ann Taylor20/02/1990DewsburySigned
Tommy Graham20/02/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Bob Cryer20/02/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Bill O'Brien20/02/1990NormantonSigned
Chris Mullin20/02/1990Sunderland SouthSigned
Rhodri Morgan20/02/1990Cardiff WestSigned
Alan Meale20/02/1990MansfieldSigned
Max Madden20/02/1990Bradford WestSigned
Brian Sedgemore20/02/1990Hackney South & ShoreditchSigned
Dennis Skinner20/02/1990BolsoverSigned
John Smith20/02/1990Vale of GlamorganSigned
Geoffrey Lofthouse20/02/1990Pontefract & CastlefordSigned
Jim Marshall20/02/1990Leicester SouthSigned
John Battle21/02/1990Leeds WestSigned
Kenneth Eastham21/02/1990Manchester, BlackleySigned
Lawrence Cunliffe21/02/1990LeighSigned
Keith Bradley21/02/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Bill Michie21/02/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
William McKelvey21/02/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion21/02/1990Dundee EastSigned
Ernie Ross21/02/1990Dundee WestSigned
Eddie Loyden22/02/1990Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Terry Davis22/02/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Norman Godman22/02/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Win Griffiths22/02/1990BridgendSigned
Harry Cohen23/02/1990LeytonSigned
Maria Fyfe28/02/1990Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Donald Anderson28/02/1990Swansea EastSigned
James Wray01/03/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Tony Lloyd02/03/1990StretfordSigned
Alice Mahon02/03/1990HalifaxSigned
Jack Thompson02/03/1990WansbeckSigned
Eric Illsley07/03/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Norman BuchanUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.