Parliament Website

Condemnation Of The Poll Tax

EDM number 658 in 1989-90, proposed by Jimmy Wray on 05/03/1990.

That this House believes the poll tax is one of the most pernicious measures ever allowed to go through Parliament; sees the arrogance which Her Majesty's Government displayed against considered and well-argued opposition from honourable Members of all political parties, churches, workers and employers' organisations, students and voluntary groups during the poll tax parliamentary debate, as a typical case of abuse of power combined with political folly; is aware that the implementation of the poll tax in Scotland has created not only tremendous hardship but also a most disgraceful violation of the privacy of individuals and families and undemocratic results for the electoral registration of the citizens; is also aware of similar ill effects and confusion surrounding the implementation of the poll tax in England and Wales, and especially recalls an episode in which a Minister demonstrated the prying character of this legislation by publicly releasing personal information on Opposition Members; accuses the Government of bringing the law and the institution of Parliament itself into disrepute; and demands that this unjust, oppressive and undemocratic legislation be immediately repealed, and that the legislation be abolished.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

James Wray05/03/1990Glasgow ProvanProposed
John McAllion05/03/1990Dundee EastSigned
Alan Meale05/03/1990MansfieldSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie05/03/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
George Galloway05/03/1990Glasgow HillheadSigned
Bill Michie06/03/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Mike Watson06/03/1990Glasgow CentralSigned
Robert Wareing06/03/1990Liverpool, West DerbySigned
Dennis Skinner06/03/1990BolsoverSigned
Martin Redmond06/03/1990Don ValleySigned
Terry Patchett06/03/1990Barnsley EastSigned
John Cummings07/03/1990EasingtonSigned
Harry Barnes07/03/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/03/1990Blyth ValleySigned
Alun Michael07/03/1990Cardiff South & PenarthSigned
William McKelvey07/03/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Robert Litherland07/03/1990Manchester CentralSigned
David Lambie07/03/1990Cunninghame SouthSigned
Eric Illsley07/03/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Roy Hughes07/03/1990Newport EastSigned
Andrew Smith07/03/1990Oxford EastSigned
Ernie Ross07/03/1990Dundee WestSigned
Terry Lewis07/03/1990WorsleySigned
Tony Lloyd08/03/1990StretfordSigned
Geoffrey Lofthouse08/03/1990Pontefract & CastlefordSigned
Tom Cox08/03/1990TootingSigned
Robert Parry13/03/1990Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Andrew Faulds13/03/1990Warley EastSigned
Gerry Steinberg13/03/1990Durham, City ofSigned
Ronald Brown14/03/1990Edinburgh LeithSigned
John Battle14/03/1990Leeds WestSigned
Joyce Quin14/03/1990Gateshead EastSigned
Peter Pike15/03/1990BurnleySigned
Alice Mahon15/03/1990HalifaxSigned
Paul Murphy15/03/1990TorfaenSigned
Keith Bradley15/03/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Maria Fyfe15/03/1990Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Llin Golding15/03/1990Newcastle-under-LymeSigned
Roland Boyes22/03/1990Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Tony Worthington23/03/1990Clydebank & MilngavieSigned
Jack Thompson28/03/1990WansbeckSigned
Harry Cohen29/03/1990LeytonSigned
Dennis Turner29/03/1990Wolverhampton South EastSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.