Parliament Website

Boothstown Conservative Club And The Poll Tax

EDM number 743 in 1989-90, proposed by Terry Lewis on 15/03/1990.

That this House notes that Boothstown Conservative Club, Greater Manchester, has voted to quit the Conservative Union and remove the Prime Minister from its presidency, in protest against the Conservative poll tax; welcomes this show of Northern grit in the face of political intimidation from the Tory establishment; and urges the committee and members to publicly support the honourable Member for Worsley in his continuing opposition to this unfair tax.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Terry Lewis15/03/1990WorsleyProposed
Dennis Skinner16/03/1990BolsoverSigned
Alan Meale16/03/1990MansfieldSigned
John Cummings16/03/1990EasingtonSigned
Harry Barnes16/03/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Martin Redmond19/03/1990Don ValleySigned
Ernie Ross20/03/1990Dundee WestSigned
John McAllion20/03/1990Dundee EastSigned
William McKelvey20/03/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Roy Hughes21/03/1990Newport EastSigned
Tony Banks21/03/1990Newham North WestSigned
Norman Godman22/03/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Maria Fyfe22/03/1990Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Roland Boyes22/03/1990Houghton and WashingtonSigned
James Wray26/03/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Keith Bradley27/03/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Eric Illsley28/03/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Jack Thompson28/03/1990WansbeckSigned
Harry Cohen29/03/1990LeytonSigned
Dennis Turner29/03/1990Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Brian Wilson30/03/1990Cunninghame NorthSigned
Allan Rogers18/04/1990RhonddaSigned
Jimmy Hood19/04/1990ClydesdaleSigned
Ian McCartney19/04/1990MakerfieldSigned
Alice Mahon26/04/1990HalifaxSigned
Elliot Morley26/04/1990Glanford and ScunthorpeSigned
Tommy Graham26/04/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.