Parliament Website

Cyprus Talks And Elections

EDM number 796 in 1989-90, proposed by Robin Squire on 26/03/1990.

That this House regrets the breakdown of the United Nations sponsored inter-communal talks between the leaders of the two Cypriot Communities in New York which the Secretary General, Perez de Cuellar, states is due to Mr Denktas's insistence on discussing 'two peoples - each having a separate right to self-determination' rather than the two Communities participating on an equal footing within the framework of one Cyprus organised on a federal, bi-communal and bi-zonal basis as being in the best interests of both Greek and Turkish Cypriots and as envisaged in the high level agreements signed in 1977 and 1979 by Mr Denktas; notes that Mr Denktas has set elections for 22nd April to seek a mandate for his position but fears that the forthcoming elections could fail to reflect the wishes of the majority of Turkish Cypriots; notes the settlement of mainland Turks with voting rights since 1975 and the large scale emigration of Turkish Cypriots means that the settler vote will play a decisive role in any election; and calls upon the British Government to use its good offices to prevent the further consolidation of the status quo, the strengthening of Turkish mainland influence in the north of the island and further separation of members of the two Communities at a time when other barriers around the world are breaking down.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Robin Squire26/03/1990HornchurchProposed
Kate Hoey26/03/1990VauxhallSigned
Donald Anderson26/03/1990Swansea EastSigned
David Alton26/03/1990Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
John Cummings26/03/1990EasingtonSigned
Robin Corbett26/03/1990Birmingham, ErdingtonSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/03/1990Blyth ValleySigned
Ernie Ross27/03/1990Dundee WestSigned
John McAllion27/03/1990Dundee EastSigned
Ian McCartney27/03/1990MakerfieldSigned
William McKelvey27/03/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Alan Meale27/03/1990MansfieldSigned
Gordon Oakes27/03/1990HaltonSigned
Tom Cox27/03/1990TootingSigned
Terry Davis27/03/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Michael Welsh27/03/1990Doncaster NorthSigned
Jim Wallace28/03/1990Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Gerry Bermingham28/03/1990St Helens SouthSigned
Alex Carlile28/03/1990MontgomerySigned
Roy Hughes28/03/1990Newport EastSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie28/03/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
Norman Godman29/03/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Roger Gale29/03/1990North ThanetSigned
Kenneth Eastham29/03/1990Manchester, BlackleySigned
Harry Cohen29/03/1990LeytonSigned
Richard Caborn29/03/1990Sheffield CentralSigned
Roland Boyes29/03/1990Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Chris Smith29/03/1990Islington South & FinsburySigned
Dawn Primarolo29/03/1990Bristol SouthSigned
Tom Pendry02/04/1990Stalybridge & HydeSigned
Eric Illsley05/04/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Ron Leighton19/04/1990Newham North EastSigned
Derek Fatchett19/04/1990Leeds CentralSigned
John Battle19/04/1990Leeds WestSigned
Elliot Morley26/04/1990Glanford and ScunthorpeSigned
Tommy Graham26/04/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Jack Thompson16/05/1990WansbeckSigned
Clive Soley17/05/1990HammersmithSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.