Parliament Website

The Judiciary And The Poll Tax

EDM number 892 in 1989-90, proposed by Alice Mahon on 25/04/1990.

That this House believes judges or magistrates who have gained out of the change from rates to poll tax, should be barred from hearing poll tax cases where the overwhelming number of people before them would be losers in the changeover.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Alice Mahon25/04/1990HalifaxProposed
Dawn Primarolo25/04/1990Bristol SouthSigned
Ian McCartney25/04/1990MakerfieldSigned
Bill Michie25/04/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Harry Cohen25/04/1990LeytonSigned
Jim Cousins25/04/1990Newcastle upon Tyne CentralSigned
Mildred Gordon25/04/1990Bow and PoplarSigned
Tommy Graham25/04/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Gerry Steinberg25/04/1990Durham, City ofSigned
Audrey Wise25/04/1990PrestonSigned
Jimmy Hood26/04/1990ClydesdaleSigned
Norman Godman26/04/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie26/04/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
David Hinchliffe26/04/1990WakefieldSigned
Dennis Skinner26/04/1990BolsoverSigned
Tony Banks27/04/1990Newham North WestSigned
Harry Barnes30/04/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Max Madden01/05/1990Bradford WestSigned
Terry Patchett01/05/1990Barnsley EastSigned
Jack Thompson01/05/1990WansbeckSigned
James Wray01/05/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Brian Sedgemore02/05/1990Hackney South & ShoreditchSigned
Eric Illsley09/05/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Martyn Jones05/06/1990Clwyd South WestSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.