Parliament Website

Upington Fourteen And The Common Purpose Doctrine

EDM number 994 in 1989-90, proposed by Harry Cohen on 15/05/1990.

That this House calls for the reprieve of the 14 black South Africans known as the Upington 14 and the abolition of the Common Purpose law under which they face the death sentence; and notes that this doctrine is recognised as unjust worldwide.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Harry Cohen15/05/1990LeytonProposed
Dennis Skinner16/05/1990BolsoverSigned
Bill Michie16/05/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Alex Carlile16/05/1990MontgomerySigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/05/1990Islington NorthSigned
Harry Barnes16/05/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Alan Meale17/05/1990MansfieldSigned
Bob Cryer17/05/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe17/05/1990LeighSigned
Tony Banks17/05/1990Newham North WestSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie21/05/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
Keith Vaz21/05/1990Leicester EastSigned
John Evans21/05/1990St Helens NorthSigned
Norman Hogg21/05/1990Cumbernauld & KilsythSigned
Peter Hardy21/05/1990WentworthSigned
Keith Bradley22/05/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
James Wray22/05/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Jim Wallace23/05/1990Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Simon Hughes24/05/1990Southwark and BermondseySigned
Jack Thompson24/05/1990WansbeckSigned
Russell Johnston05/06/1990Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSigned
Tommy Graham05/06/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Terry Patchett07/06/1990Barnsley EastSigned
Eric Illsley07/06/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Eddie Loyden07/06/1990Liverpool, GarstonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.