Parliament Website

European Banana Policy

EDM number 1121 in 1990-91, proposed by Bowen Wells on 11/07/1991.

That this House notes that the European Commission will slip on a banana skin if it does not produce acceptable proposals for an EC banana regime that will allow banana producers of the Windward Islands, Jamaica, Belize and Surinam to continue to provide high quality bananas, which are a vital part of the British fruit bowl, at attractive prices to the British consumer; congratulates successive United Kingdom Governments for putting in place mechanisms in the United Kingdom that have allowed this trade to flourish to the benefit of the economies of these countries; and calls on the United Kingdom Government to urge the European Commission to produce a solution without further delay that will enable this traditional trade to continue without loss of confidence as provided for under the Banana Protocol of the Lome Convention.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Bowen Wells11/07/1991Hertford & StortfordProposed
Michael Shersby11/07/1991UxbridgeSigned
James Lester11/07/1991BroxtoweSigned
Joan Lestor11/07/1991EcclesSigned
Tony Lloyd11/07/1991StretfordSigned
Norman Godman11/07/1991Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Harry Barnes12/07/1991North East DerbyshireSigned
Edward O'Hara15/07/1991Knowsley SouthSigned
Andrew Faulds15/07/1991Warley EastSigned
Terry Davis15/07/1991Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Denzil Davies15/07/1991LlanelliSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe15/07/1991LeighSigned
Frank Cook15/07/1991Stockton NorthSigned
William McKelvey15/07/1991Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Ian McCartney15/07/1991MakerfieldSigned
John McAllion15/07/1991Dundee EastSigned
Ernie Ross15/07/1991Dundee WestSigned
Irene Adams16/07/1991Paisley NorthSigned
Nicholas Winterton16/07/1991MacclesfieldSigned
John Battle16/07/1991Leeds WestSigned
Ian Grist16/07/1991Cardiff CentralSigned
Llin Golding16/07/1991Newcastle-under-LymeSigned
Paul Channon16/07/1991Southend WestSigned
Michael Morris16/07/1991Northampton SouthSigned
Alan Meale16/07/1991MansfieldSigned
Russell Johnston16/07/1991Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSigned
John Cummings16/07/1991EasingtonSigned
Nigel Spearing17/07/1991Newham SouthSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/07/1991Blyth ValleySigned
Michael Colvin17/07/1991Romsey and WatersideSigned
Anthony Durant17/07/1991Reading WestSigned
George Foulkes17/07/1991Carrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleySigned
Paul Boateng17/07/1991Brent SouthSigned
Tom Clarke18/07/1991Monklands WestSigned
Dennis Turner18/07/1991Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Donald Thompson18/07/1991Calder ValleySigned
Win Griffiths18/07/1991BridgendSigned
Paul Flynn18/07/1991Newport WestSigned
Tom Cox18/07/1991TootingSigned
Peter Hardy18/07/1991WentworthSigned
David Steel19/07/1991Tweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleSigned
Emma Nicholson22/07/1991Torridge & West DevonSigned
David Clelland22/07/1991Tyne BridgeSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody22/07/1991Crewe & NantwichSigned
Chris Smith23/07/1991Islington South & FinsburySigned
Audrey Wise24/07/1991PrestonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.