Parliament Website

Secretary Of State For Wales And The Water Poll Tax

EDM number 124 in 1990-91, proposed by Alun Michael on 27/11/1990.

That this House notes with interest the attempts of the Secretary of State for Wales to distance himself from the poll tax and calls on him to demonstrate that his change of heart is real rather than cosmetic by instructing Welsh Water plc to abandon its plans to introduce a flat-rate charge of water poll tax and to retain the present rate-based system until at least the first financial year after the General Election; further calls on him to come forward with proposals of his own for water consumers which involve neither the water poll tax nor metering; urges him to endorse the Labour Party's plea for the interests of consumers to come first and the expressed view of the Director General of Ofwat that a new charging system must be fair to customers and the expressed view of the Customer Service Committee for Wales of Ofwat that it is desirable for the customers as well as the water companies to have a voice in determining how they would prefer to pay their bills; notes that the water poll tax if implemented would be as deservedly unpopular as the poll tax and urges the Secretary of State to state now, clearly and categorically, that it is simply not an option worth considering.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Alun Michael27/11/1990Cardiff South & PenarthProposed
Raymond Powell27/11/1990OgmoreSigned
Martyn Jones27/11/1990Clwyd South WestSigned
Paul Murphy27/11/1990TorfaenSigned
Ron Davies27/11/1990CaerphillySigned
Win Griffiths27/11/1990BridgendSigned
Robert Parry28/11/1990Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Roy Hughes28/11/1990Newport EastSigned
John Cummings28/11/1990EasingtonSigned
Harry Barnes28/11/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Dennis Skinner29/11/1990BolsoverSigned
Peter Hardy29/11/1990WentworthSigned
Bill Michie29/11/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
James Wray03/12/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Alan Wynne Williams03/12/1990CarmarthenSigned
Kim Howells03/12/1990PontypriddSigned
Denzil Davies03/12/1990LlanelliSigned
Ernie Ross04/12/1990Dundee WestSigned
Eric Illsley04/12/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
John McAllion04/12/1990Dundee EastSigned
William McKelvey04/12/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Alan Meale04/12/1990MansfieldSigned
Keith Bradley05/12/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Paul Flynn06/12/1990Newport WestSigned
Peter Pike07/12/1990BurnleySigned
Donald Anderson10/12/1990Swansea EastSigned
Doug Hoyle13/12/1990Warrington NorthSigned
Alex Carlile17/12/1990MontgomerySigned
Audrey Wise22/04/1991PrestonSigned
John Smith25/04/1991Vale of GlamorganSigned
Ken Livingstone29/04/1991Brent EastSigned
Jeff Rooker07/05/1991Birmingham, Perry BarrSigned
Jimmy Hood09/05/1991ClydesdaleSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.