Parliament Website

New Consensus

EDM number 207 in 1990-91, proposed by Harry Barnes on 10/12/1990.

That this House warmly welcomes the formation of a British branch of New Consensus, which aims to challenge at every opportunity both simplistic solutions towards Northern Ireland and also apathy and ambivalence in Britain about the right to human life and political involvement in Northern Ireland, on the basis that every murder and all intimidation is equally reprehensible, from whatever quarter it comes; notes that New Consensus will defend and promote the equal right of all citizens of Northern Ireland to democratic control of their political destiny through democratic devolved government for the people of Northern Ireland, backed by a formal Bill of Rights; further notes that New Consensus promotes the principle of integrated education as a practical step towards reconciliation in Northern Ireland; and wishes great success to New Consensus in these aims, which will attract support from men and women of all parties and none.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Harry Barnes10/12/1990North East DerbyshireProposed
Simon Hughes10/12/1990Southwark and BermondseySigned
Ken Maginnis10/12/1990Fermanagh & South TyroneSigned
Alan Meale10/12/1990MansfieldSigned
Henry Bellingham10/12/1990North West NorfolkSigned
Dafydd Wigley10/12/1990CaernarfonSigned
Norman Godman11/12/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Terry Davis11/12/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
John Cummings11/12/1990EasingtonSigned
Alice Mahon11/12/1990HalifaxSigned
David Knox11/12/1990Staffordshire MoorlandsSigned
Jerry Hayes12/12/1990HarlowSigned
Eric Illsley12/12/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie12/12/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
Stuart Bell12/12/1990MiddlesbroughSigned
Kate Hoey13/12/1990VauxhallSigned
Ron Davies13/12/1990CaerphillySigned
David Alton13/12/1990Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
Tom Cox14/12/1990TootingSigned
Jack Thompson14/12/1990WansbeckSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.