Parliament Website

Prime Minister And The Poll Tax

EDM number 575 in 1990-91, proposed by Terry Lewis on 06/03/1991.

That this House recognises the considerable worry and hardship caused to many citizens, in Scotland since 1989 and in England and Wales since 1990, as a result of the introduction of the wholly discredited poll tax; reminds the Prime Minister of his expressions of doubt about its efficacy at the time of the Conservative Party leadership election; is convinced that electoral imperatives will eventually force him to abolish it altogether; and when that event takes place demands that those groups identified in a letter to the Prime Minister from the honourable Member for Worsley be retrospectively compensated.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Terry Lewis06/03/1991WorsleyProposed
Max Madden06/03/1991Bradford WestSigned
Bob Cryer06/03/1991Bradford SouthSigned
Ernie Ross07/03/1991Dundee WestSigned
Eric Illsley07/03/1991Barnsley CentralSigned
John McAllion07/03/1991Dundee EastSigned
William McKelvey07/03/1991Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Alun Michael07/03/1991Cardiff South & PenarthSigned
Bill Michie07/03/1991Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Lawrence Cunliffe07/03/1991LeighSigned
Harry Barnes07/03/1991North East DerbyshireSigned
Dennis Skinner11/03/1991BolsoverSigned
Robert Parry12/03/1991Liverpool, RiversideSigned
John Cummings12/03/1991EasingtonSigned
Keith Bradley12/03/1991Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie13/03/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
Maria Fyfe13/03/1991Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Robert Wareing13/03/1991Liverpool, West DerbySigned
James Wray13/03/1991Glasgow ProvanSigned
Ian McCartney14/03/1991MakerfieldSigned
Tommy Graham14/03/1991Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Jack Thompson21/03/1991WansbeckSigned
Diane Abbott28/03/1991Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
Martyn Jones18/04/1991Clwyd South WestSigned
Alice MahonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.