Parliament Website

Kurdish People And Democracy In Iraq

EDM number 585 in 1990-91, proposed by DN Campbell-Savours on 11/03/1991.

That this House notes the difficult and dangerous position faced by the Kurdish community in the present internal conflict in Iraq; expresses the hope that any final settlement will recognise the rights of the Kurdish people; believes that the people of Iraq will cooperate to build a democratic and pluralist society in Iraq; notes the desire to achieve a Kurdish entity within a democratic and federated Iraq; recognises that any Middle East peace conference that fails to address the grievances of the Kurds, and the other peoples of Iraq, will not achieve the security and stability in the region which is in the interests of all; expresses the hope that those concerned about the future of Iraq will join in commemorating the third anniversary of the chemical weapons attack on the Kurdish town of Halabja which left over 5,000 dead; and takes note of the meeting in the Grand Committee Room of the House of Commons from 2 to 5 p.m. on Thursday 14 March 1991.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Dale Campbell-Savours11/03/1991WorkingtonProposed
Russell Johnston11/03/1991Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSeconded
Ivan Lawrence11/03/1991BurtonSigned
Ernie Ross12/03/1991Dundee WestSigned
Peter Hardy12/03/1991WentworthSigned
David Hinchliffe12/03/1991WakefieldSigned
John McAllion12/03/1991Dundee EastSigned
William McKelvey12/03/1991Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Keith Bradley12/03/1991Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Ron Davies12/03/1991CaerphillySigned
David Alton12/03/1991Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
Martin Smyth13/03/1991Belfast SouthSigned
James Wray13/03/1991Glasgow ProvanSigned
David Steel13/03/1991Tweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleSigned
Norman Godman13/03/1991Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Maria Fyfe13/03/1991Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
John Evans13/03/1991St Helens NorthSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie13/03/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
Alice Mahon13/03/1991HalifaxSigned
Robert Parry13/03/1991Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Alan Meale14/03/1991MansfieldSigned
Ian McCartney14/03/1991MakerfieldSigned
John Home Robertson14/03/1991East LothianSigned
Jim Wallace15/03/1991Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Doug Hoyle18/03/1991Warrington NorthSigned
Jim Cousins18/03/1991Newcastle upon Tyne CentralSigned
Jack Thompson18/03/1991WansbeckSigned
Andrew Faulds19/03/1991Warley EastSigned
Paul Flynn19/03/1991Newport WestSigned
Win Griffiths19/03/1991BridgendSigned
John Blackburn19/03/1991Dudley WestSigned
Robert Wareing19/03/1991Liverpool, West DerbySigned
Tom Cox20/03/1991TootingSigned
Calum MacDonald21/03/1991Na h-Eileanan an IarSigned
Harry Cohen21/03/1991LeytonSigned
Tony Banks25/03/1991Newham North WestSigned
Ronnie Fearn16/04/1991SouthportSigned
Andrew Smith18/04/1991Oxford EastSigned
Alex Carlile23/04/1991MontgomerySigned
Ken Livingstone29/04/1991Brent EastSigned
Dafydd Wigley30/04/1991CaernarfonSigned
David Atkinson09/05/1991Bournemouth EastSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.