Parliament Website

Further Cuts By British Rail

EDM number 662 in 1990-91, proposed by Michael Welsh on 26/03/1991.

That this House deplores the decision of British Railways Board to terminate the Speedlink Wagon Services with a consequent heavy loss of jobs in British Rail expresses its concern that a very heavy volume of freight will be diverted from rail to road with adverse environmental consequences, further overloading of already congested major roads and neglect of Britain's valuable rail network; and calls upon the Government to give support to the national railway system comparable with that provided by Britain's competitors within the European Economic Community.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Michael Welsh26/03/1991Doncaster NorthProposed
Terry Patchett26/03/1991Barnsley EastSigned
Martin Redmond26/03/1991Don ValleySigned
Peter Snape26/03/1991West Bromwich EastSigned
Adam Ingram26/03/1991East KilbrideSigned
John McWilliam26/03/1991BlaydonSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/03/1991Blyth ValleySigned
Bob Cryer26/03/1991Bradford SouthSigned
John Cummings26/03/1991EasingtonSigned
John McAllion27/03/1991Dundee EastSigned
James Wray27/03/1991Glasgow ProvanSigned
Gerry Steinberg27/03/1991Durham, City ofSigned
John Battle27/03/1991Leeds WestSigned
Alexander Eadie27/03/1991MidlothianSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie27/03/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
Keith Bradley27/03/1991Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Bill Michie27/03/1991Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Alan Meale27/03/1991MansfieldSigned
William McKelvey27/03/1991Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Jimmy Hood27/03/1991ClydesdaleSigned
Peter Hardy27/03/1991WentworthSigned
John Smith27/03/1991Vale of GlamorganSigned
Ernie Ross27/03/1991Dundee WestSigned
Eric Illsley28/03/1991Barnsley CentralSigned
Harry Barnes28/03/1991North East DerbyshireSigned
Norman Godman28/03/1991Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
John Evans28/03/1991St Helens NorthSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe28/03/1991LeighSigned
Tom Cox28/03/1991TootingSigned
Dennis Skinner28/03/1991BolsoverSigned
Ron Davies28/03/1991CaerphillySigned
Norman Hogg15/04/1991Cumbernauld & KilsythSigned
Tony Lloyd15/04/1991StretfordSigned
John Marek15/04/1991WrexhamSigned
Denzil Davies15/04/1991LlanelliSigned
Elliot Morley16/04/1991Glanford and ScunthorpeSigned
Tony Banks16/04/1991Newham North WestSigned
Peter Pike17/04/1991BurnleySigned
Joyce Quin18/04/1991Gateshead EastSigned
Andrew Smith18/04/1991Oxford EastSigned
Joan Lestor22/04/1991EcclesSigned
Eric Martlew22/04/1991CarlisleSigned
Audrey Wise22/04/1991PrestonSigned
Alex Carlile23/04/1991MontgomerySigned
Ronald Brown25/04/1991Edinburgh LeithSigned
Tommy Graham26/04/1991Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Ken Livingstone29/04/1991Brent EastSigned
Jack Thompson01/05/1991WansbeckSigned
Martyn Jones03/05/1991Clwyd South WestSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.