Parliament Website

Sacking Of S.n.p Poll Tax Spokesman

EDM number 669 in 1990-91, proposed by Jim Hood on 26/03/1991.

That this House views the sacking of the S.N.P. Poll Tax spokesman as an interesting development in Scottish politics; believes that the sacking of Mr Kenny MacAskill as their poll tax spokesman for refusing to pay his poll tax will have come as a surprise to many S.N.P. members who have attended meetings and rallies to hear their honourable Members, including their leader, the honourable Member for Banff and Buchan, tell them not to pay their poll tax; wonders where the S.N.P's. claim to victory with their non-payment campaign came from when the poll tax is still in place and will be so until Labour is elected to Government; notes the opinion of the former Chancellor, the Right honourable Member for Blaby, that the so called poll tax reforms as announced by the Government last week, will not abolish the poll tax but reform it into the Son of Poll Tax; understands the anger of the many people who were foolish enough to support the S.N.P. non-payment campaign, who are now left with heavy debts, blacklisted for credit and in the depths of despair whilst the S.N.P. leaders glibly pay the poll tax by American Express etc. and walk away from them.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Jimmy Hood26/03/1991ClydesdaleProposed
Ernie Ross26/03/1991Dundee WestSigned
Tommy Graham26/03/1991Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Maria Fyfe26/03/1991Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie26/03/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
Tom Clarke26/03/1991Monklands WestSigned
Alan Meale26/03/1991MansfieldSigned
William McKelvey26/03/1991Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion26/03/1991Dundee EastSigned
Michael Martin26/03/1991Glasgow, SpringburnSigned
David Marshall26/03/1991Glasgow, ShettlestonSigned
Norman Hogg26/03/1991Cumbernauld & KilsythSigned
Harriet Harman26/03/1991PeckhamSigned
Michael Welsh27/03/1991Doncaster NorthSigned
Keith Bradley27/03/1991Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Mike Watson27/03/1991Glasgow CentralSigned
Alexander Eadie27/03/1991MidlothianSigned
Terry Davis27/03/1991Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
John Cummings27/03/1991EasingtonSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/03/1991Blyth ValleySigned
Bill Michie27/03/1991Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Eric Illsley28/03/1991Barnsley CentralSigned
Ron Davies28/03/1991CaerphillySigned
Norman Godman28/03/1991Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Tony Lloyd15/04/1991StretfordSigned
Brian Wilson15/04/1991Cunninghame NorthSigned
Peter Pike17/04/1991BurnleySigned
Joyce Quin18/04/1991Gateshead EastSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.