Parliament Website

Safety In The Channel Tunnel

EDM number 735 in 1990-91, proposed by Ronnie Fearn on 23/04/1991.

That this House notes with concern the tone of the annual report for 1989-90 of the Channel Tunnel Safety Authority; expresses particular concern that at such a late date the Authority should be drawing attention to the fact that major outstanding questions still to be resolved include the design criteria to be used for protecting the system against earthquakes, emergency ventilation and the final arrangements chosen for the rolling stock (in particular the HGV wagons) ; recalls that the Authority feels it is by no means clear that acceptable solutions will be found in the time frame of the Avant Project programme; calls on Her Majesty's Government urgently to review the Tunnel's official opening date in 1993 in order to give all concerned, especially major transport and industrial concerns, sufficient warning of any need to postpone the opening in the interests of ensuring the safety of its potential users; and calls upon the Safety Authority to release the results of the tests that have led them to conclude that the risks to safety caused by non-segregation of passengers and vehicles will be acceptable.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Ronnie Fearn23/04/1991SouthportProposed
Eddie Loyden24/04/1991Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Bill Michie24/04/1991Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Matthew Taylor24/04/1991TruroSigned
Bob Cryer25/04/1991Bradford SouthSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie25/04/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
Harry Barnes25/04/1991North East DerbyshireSigned
Gerry Bermingham26/04/1991St Helens SouthSigned
Ernie Ross29/04/1991Dundee WestSigned
Dennis Turner29/04/1991Wolverhampton South EastSigned
John Cummings29/04/1991EasingtonSigned
William McKelvey29/04/1991Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion29/04/1991Dundee EastSigned
Ken Livingstone29/04/1991Brent EastSigned
Peter Hardy29/04/1991WentworthSigned
Martin Redmond29/04/1991Don ValleySigned
Archy Kirkwood30/04/1991Roxburgh & BerwickshireSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/04/1991Islington NorthSigned
Gordon Oakes30/04/1991HaltonSigned
Alice Mahon30/04/1991HalifaxSigned
Tony Lloyd30/04/1991StretfordSigned
Geraint Howells30/04/1991Ceredigion and Pembroke NorthSigned
Richard Livsey01/05/1991Brecon and RadnorSigned
Ray Michie01/05/1991Argyll & ButeSigned
David Clelland01/05/1991Tyne BridgeSigned
Alan Beith08/05/1991Berwick-upon-TweedSigned
Geoffrey Lofthouse09/05/1991Pontefract & CastlefordSigned
Alan Meale09/05/1991MansfieldSigned
Alex Carlile10/05/1991MontgomerySigned
Michael Carr13/05/1991Ribble ValleySigned
David Alton13/05/1991Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
Tommy Graham21/05/1991Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Audrey Wise10/06/1991PrestonSigned
Simon Hughes11/06/1991Southwark and BermondseySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.