Parliament Website

Political Detainees In Turkey

EDM number 853 in 1990-91, proposed by Dafydd Elis Thomas on 17/05/1991.

That this House notes the passing of new anti-terror laws by the Turkish Government on 11th April; welcomes the release of a number of prisoners of conscience and the commutation of all death sentences as a direct result of this legislation; further notes that unfortunately the laws passed on 11th April still allow for the imprisonment of individuals exercising their right to freedom of expression, and do not provide for the adoption of an adequate legal framework for the trial and prosecution of police and prison officers found committing acts of torture; and calls on the United Kingdom Government to make representations to the Government of Turkey to ensure that such a framework is set up forthwith.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Dafydd Elis Thomas17/05/1991Meirionnydd Nant ConwyProposed
Chris Smith21/05/1991Islington South & FinsburySigned
Dafydd Wigley21/05/1991CaernarfonSigned
Tom Cox22/05/1991TootingSigned
Win Griffiths22/05/1991BridgendSigned
Harry Cohen23/05/1991LeytonSigned
Maria Fyfe06/06/1991Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Jim Wallace12/06/1991Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Ronnie Fearn13/06/1991SouthportSigned
Diane Abbott20/06/1991Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
Tony Benn24/06/1991ChesterfieldSigned
Frank Cook25/06/1991Stockton NorthSigned
Jack Thompson26/06/1991WansbeckSigned
Doug Hoyle27/06/1991Warrington NorthSigned
Jimmy Hood04/07/1991ClydesdaleSigned
Roland Boyes11/07/1991Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Martyn Jones16/07/1991Clwyd South WestSigned
Tommy Graham17/07/1991Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.