Parliament Website

Opening Of The Conwy Tunnel

EDM number 35 in 1991-92, proposed by Anthony Meyer on 31/10/1991.

That this House congratulates the Right honourable Member for Conwy and Minister of State for Wales on the successful completion of the Conwy Tunnel, opened by Her Majesty the Queen on Friday 25th October; recognises the foresight and perseverence of the Right honourable Member, the Minister responsible for roads in Wales, in the planning and execution of this major project, the first immersed tube tunnel in the United Kingdom; notes that this is a crucial stage in the upgrading of the Chester to Bangor A55 route; and welcomes the lasting benefits that the Tunnel will bring to the people and economy of North Wales.

This motion has been signed by a total of 10 MPs.

Anthony Meyer31/10/1991Clwyd North WestProposed
Keith Raffan31/10/1991DelynSigned
Colin Shepherd31/10/1991HerefordSigned
Gwilym Jones31/10/1991Cardiff NorthSigned
David Knox31/10/1991Staffordshire MoorlandsSigned
Jacques Arnold01/11/1991GraveshamSigned
Ian Bruce05/11/1991South DorsetSigned
Ian Grist06/11/1991Cardiff CentralSigned
Tony Benn16/01/1992ChesterfieldSigned
Tommy Graham23/01/1992Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.