Parliament Website


EDM number 379 in 1991-92, proposed by Alun Michael on 11/12/1991.

That this House welcomes the Prime Minister's statement that he is committed to the principle of subsidiarity, which is defined by the Oxford English Dictionary as, 'the principle that a central authority should have a subsidiary function, performing only those tasks which cannot be performed more effectively at a more immediate or local level', but regrets that he appears not to understand the implications of such a commitment; notes that the principle applies with equal strength to relationships within the United Kingdom as it does to relationships within the European Community generally; notes that the principle has been breached repeatedly in the way this Conservative Government has undermined the work of local government and the independence of action of people elected by local communities to represent their interests; also believes that the Conservative Party has done great damage to public confidence within Wales by excessive use of unaccountable nominated bodies; and calls on the Prime Minister to recognise that the unity of the United Kingdom will be strengthened rather than weakened by a proper understanding and effective application of the principle of subsidiarity as well as a fresh commitment to democracy and accountability.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alun Michael11/12/1991Cardiff South & PenarthProposed
Raymond Powell11/12/1991OgmoreSigned
Alan Wynne Williams11/12/1991CarmarthenSigned
Dennis Turner11/12/1991Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Win Griffiths11/12/1991BridgendSigned
Llin Golding11/12/1991Newcastle-under-LymeSigned
George Foulkes11/12/1991Carrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleySigned
Paul Flynn11/12/1991Newport WestSigned
Ron Davies11/12/1991CaerphillySigned
David Clelland11/12/1991Tyne BridgeSigned
Paul Murphy11/12/1991TorfaenSigned
Rhodri Morgan11/12/1991Cardiff WestSigned
Thomas McAvoy11/12/1991Glasgow, RutherglenSigned
Martyn Jones11/12/1991Clwyd South WestSigned
Eric Illsley11/12/1991Barnsley CentralSigned
Kim Howells11/12/1991PontypriddSigned
Allan Rogers11/12/1991RhonddaSigned
Keith Bradley12/12/1991Manchester, WithingtonSigned
John Battle12/12/1991Leeds WestSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie12/12/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
Roy Hughes16/12/1991Newport EastSigned
Huw Edwards16/12/1991MonmouthSigned
Donald Anderson16/12/1991Swansea EastSigned
Robert Parry17/12/1991Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Joyce Quin17/12/1991Gateshead EastSigned
John Cummings17/12/1991EasingtonSigned
Irene Adams17/12/1991Paisley NorthSigned
Bruce Grocott17/12/1991Wrekin, TheSigned
Roland Boyes18/12/1991Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Jack Thompson18/12/1991WansbeckSigned
Dafydd Wigley23/01/1992CaernarfonSigned
Edward O'Hara05/02/1992Knowsley SouthSigned
Martin RedmondUnknownWithdrawn
Norman A GodmanUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.