Parliament Website

Public Appointments In Wales

EDM number 437 in 1991-92, proposed by Rhodri Morgan on 18/12/1991.

That this House urges the Secretary of State for the Home Department to reconsider his reported decision to appoint Dr Gwyn Jones, already the Chairman of the Welsh Development Agency, to be also the Chairman of the BBC Broadcasting Council for Wales; reminds the Secretary of State for the Home Department of the democratic advantages of dispensing such vital appointments amongst the widest possible cross-section of Welsh society; is alarmed at the increasing concentration of power and influence in quangos in whatever little authority to govern Wales it ever had; and further reminds the Secretary of State for the Home Department that objective reporting by the BBC in Wales on the state of the Welsh economy will be made much more difficult in the circumstances that would be brought about by the chairmanship of both BBC Wales and the Welsh Development Agency being in one and the same hands.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Rhodri Morgan18/12/1991Cardiff WestProposed
Ted Rowlands18/12/1991Merthyr Tydfil & RhymneySigned
Roy Hughes18/12/1991Newport EastSigned
Denzil Davies18/12/1991LlanelliSigned
Ron Davies18/12/1991CaerphillySigned
Huw Edwards18/12/1991MonmouthSigned
Paul Flynn18/12/1991Newport WestSigned
Dennis Skinner19/12/1991BolsoverSigned
Alan Wynne Williams19/12/1991CarmarthenSigned
Jack Thompson19/12/1991WansbeckSigned
Harry Barnes19/12/1991North East DerbyshireSigned
John Cummings19/12/1991EasingtonSigned
Bill Michie19/12/1991Sheffield, HeeleySigned
William McKelvey19/12/1991Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion19/12/1991Dundee EastSigned
Ernie Ross19/12/1991Dundee WestSigned
Martin Redmond19/12/1991Don ValleySigned
Robert Parry19/12/1991Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/12/1991Islington NorthSigned
Win Griffiths20/12/1991BridgendSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.