Parliament Website

Mr David Owen

EDM number 44 in 1991-92, proposed by Chris Mullin on 31/10/1991.

That this House recalls that in 1974 and 1975 an inquiry into the treatment in custody of the six innocent men convicted of the Birmingham pub bombings was conducted by the then Assistant Chief Constable of Lincolnshire, now the Chief Constable of North Wales, Mr David Owen; recalls that, despite a wealth of evidence that the men had been assaulted in the custody of the West Midlands Serious Crimes Squad and that their confessions were fabricated, Mr Owen exonerated the police and placed blame for the assaults solely on prison officers; further recalls that Mr Owen's report was not published; calls for the immediate publication of the Owen report; and hopes that when the time comes for an inquiry into the Birmingham pub bombings case the role of Mr David Owen will not be overlooked.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Chris Mullin31/10/1991Sunderland SouthProposed
Menzies Campbell31/10/1991Fife North EastSigned
Michael Foot31/10/1991Blaenau GwentSigned
Harry Barnes01/11/1991North East DerbyshireSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie04/11/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
John Evans04/11/1991St Helens NorthSigned
Norman Godman04/11/1991Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Chris Smith05/11/1991Islington South & FinsburySigned
Alice Mahon05/11/1991HalifaxSigned
Alan Meale05/11/1991MansfieldSigned
Keith Bradley05/11/1991Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Jim Wallace05/11/1991Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Alan Wynne Williams05/11/1991CarmarthenSigned
Tommy Graham06/11/1991Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Tony Banks06/11/1991Newham North WestSigned
Joan Lestor06/11/1991EcclesSigned
Eric Illsley06/11/1991Barnsley CentralSigned
Patrick Duffy06/11/1991Sheffield, AttercliffeSigned
Robert Parry07/11/1991Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Terry Lewis07/11/1991WorsleySigned
Eddie Loyden07/11/1991Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Frank Cook11/11/1991Stockton NorthSigned
Harry Cohen12/11/1991LeytonSigned
Brian Wilson13/11/1991Cunninghame NorthSigned
Jack Thompson13/11/1991WansbeckSigned
Brian Sedgemore14/11/1991Hackney South & ShoreditchSigned
Ken Livingstone20/11/1991Brent EastSigned
Geoffrey Lofthouse21/11/1991Pontefract & CastlefordSigned
John McAllion28/11/1991Dundee EastSigned
Keith Vaz28/11/1991Leicester EastSigned
Ronald Brown05/12/1991Edinburgh LeithSigned
Calum MacDonald04/02/1992Na h-Eileanan an IarSigned
Audrey Wise17/02/1992PrestonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.