Parliament Website

BBC Watchdog And Eurocopy

EDM number 663 in 1991-92, proposed by Nigel Griffiths on 12/02/1992.

That this House congratulates BBC television's watchdog programme on Monday 9th February for its excellent expose of the activities of Eurocopy and other companies supplying photocopying equipment; welcomes Watchdog's role in resisting the pressure and intimidation of large companies like Eurocopy who retain expensive lawyers to bully small businesses, charities, churches, schools, hospitals and others; congratulates Helen Glanville, Bill Hanrahan and the editors and staff of Watchdog for standing up for consumers; urges the BBC to ensure that Watchdog's challenging consumer journalism does not succumb to the pressure of companies whose financial might is directed at gagging all media criticism; and welcomes the establishment of Paul Winner's Campaign to Clean Up Copier Contracts with its complaints hotline.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Nigel Griffiths12/02/1992Edinburgh SouthProposed
David Hinchliffe12/02/1992WakefieldSigned
Tony Lloyd12/02/1992StretfordSigned
John Marek12/02/1992WrexhamSigned
Ian McCartney12/02/1992MakerfieldSigned
David Clelland12/02/1992Tyne BridgeSigned
Dennis Turner12/02/1992Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Bill Michie13/02/1992Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Harry Barnes13/02/1992North East DerbyshireSigned
Andrew Faulds13/02/1992Warley EastSigned
Huw Edwards13/02/1992MonmouthSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe13/02/1992LeighSigned
John Cummings13/02/1992EasingtonSigned
Terry Lewis13/02/1992WorsleySigned
Peter Hardy13/02/1992WentworthSigned
Eddie Loyden14/02/1992Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Norman Godman14/02/1992Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie14/02/1992Glasgow, PollokSigned
Alan Meale14/02/1992MansfieldSigned
Eric Illsley14/02/1992Barnsley CentralSigned
Keith Bradley17/02/1992Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Frank Cook17/02/1992Stockton NorthSigned
John Battle17/02/1992Leeds WestSigned
Mike Watson17/02/1992Glasgow CentralSigned
Alan Williams18/02/1992Swansea WestSigned
Edward O'Hara19/02/1992Knowsley SouthSigned
John Evans19/02/1992St Helens NorthSigned
Win Griffiths19/02/1992BridgendSigned
Jack Thompson25/02/1992WansbeckSigned
Tommy Graham27/02/1992Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Barry Sheerman09/03/1992HuddersfieldSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours12/03/1992WorkingtonSigned
Harry Cohen12/03/1992LeytonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.