Parliament Website

Aviation Security

EDM number 1034 in 1992-93, proposed by David Marshall on 09/12/1992.

That this House is extremely concerned at the possibility that numerous unauthorised unaccompanied pieces of baggage are being flown daily from all British international airports without being subjected to other security control measures as required by the mandatory ICAO standard (annex 17 (4.3.1)), despite the full knowledge that this same security defect was exploited by terrorists in 1988, costing 270 lives in the preventable Lockerbie disaster; and calls upon the Government to ensure that this critical security standard is fulling implemented at all times to prevent another similar catastrophe occurring.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

David Marshall09/12/1992Glasgow, ShettlestonProposed
Frank Cook09/12/1992Stockton NorthSigned
Peter Hardy10/12/1992WentworthSigned
Eric Illsley10/12/1992Barnsley CentralSigned
Glenda Jackson10/12/1992Hampstead & HighgateSigned
Ken Livingstone10/12/1992Brent EastSigned
Alan Meale10/12/1992MansfieldSigned
Bill Michie10/12/1992Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Ronnie Campbell10/12/1992Blyth ValleySigned
Eric Clarke10/12/1992MidlothianSigned
Jim Dowd10/12/1992Lewisham WestSigned
Derek Enright10/12/1992HemsworthSigned
Norman Godman10/12/1992Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
James Wray10/12/1992Glasgow ProvanSigned
Tony Banks11/12/1992Newham North WestSigned
Harry Barnes14/12/1992North East DerbyshireSigned
John Evans14/12/1992St Helens NorthSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/12/1992Islington NorthSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe14/12/1992LeighSigned
Colin Pickthall15/12/1992West LancashireSigned
Simon Hughes15/12/1992Southwark and BermondseySigned
Adam Ingram15/12/1992East KilbrideSigned
Eddie Loyden15/12/1992Liverpool, GarstonSigned
John Cummings15/12/1992EasingtonSigned
Win Griffiths15/12/1992BridgendSigned
Peter Pike16/12/1992BurnleySigned
Brian Wilson16/12/1992Cunninghame NorthSigned
Edward O'Hara16/12/1992Knowsley SouthSigned
John Heppell16/12/1992Nottingham EastSigned
Alan Simpson16/12/1992Nottingham SouthSigned
Roland Boyes11/01/1993Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Bruce George15/01/1993Walsall SouthSigned
Barry Sheerman25/01/1993HuddersfieldSigned
Jack Thompson28/01/1993WansbeckSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.