Parliament Website

Occupation Of County Hall

EDM number 2148 in 1992-93, proposed by Tony Banks on 11/06/1993.

That this House offers warm congratulations to those Londoners who successfully maintained a 24-hour occupation of County Hall in protest at the lack of a strategic authority and voice for London; notes that County Hall is still empty six years after the abolition of the Greater London Council; believes that the decision by the politically malignant Chairman of the London Residuary Body to allow the Japanese company Shiryama to turn County Hall into a luxury hotel is repugnant to the majority of Londoners; hopes that the deal fails; and offers support to London activists in their future campaign to draw attention to the lack of co-ordination and cohesion in London and the continuing scandal surrounding the future of County Hall.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Tony Banks11/06/1993Newham North WestProposed
Bridget Prentice11/06/1993Lewisham EastSigned
Brian Sedgemore11/06/1993Hackney South & ShoreditchSigned
Piara S Khabra11/06/1993Ealing, SouthallSigned
Ken Livingstone11/06/1993Brent EastSigned
Harry Cohen11/06/1993LeytonSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/06/1993Islington NorthSigned
Neil Gerrard11/06/1993WalthamstowSigned
Mildred Gordon11/06/1993Bow and PoplarSigned
Diane Abbott11/06/1993Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
Janet Anderson14/06/1993Rossendale & DarwenSigned
Harry Barnes14/06/1993North East DerbyshireSigned
Nick Raynsford14/06/1993GreenwichSigned
Dennis Skinner15/06/1993BolsoverSigned
Eddie Loyden15/06/1993Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Alan Meale15/06/1993MansfieldSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/06/1993Blyth ValleySigned
Eric Clarke15/06/1993MidlothianSigned
Michael Connarty15/06/1993Falkirk EastSigned
Robert Parry16/06/1993Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Michael Clapham16/06/1993Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Keith Bradley16/06/1993Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Helen Jackson16/06/1993Sheffield, HillsboroughSigned
Dawn Primarolo16/06/1993Bristol SouthSigned
Nigel Jones16/06/1993CheltenhamSigned
Bill Etherington17/06/1993Sunderland NorthSigned
Ian Davidson17/06/1993Glasgow, GovanSigned
James Callaghan17/06/1993Heywood & MiddletonSigned
Bill Michie17/06/1993Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Terry Lewis17/06/1993WorsleySigned
Alan Simpson17/06/1993Nottingham SouthSigned
Tom Cox21/06/1993TootingSigned
John Gunnell23/06/1993Leeds South and MorleySigned
Derek Enright24/06/1993HemsworthSigned
Richard Burden28/06/1993Birmingham, NorthfieldSigned
Tony Benn30/06/1993ChesterfieldSigned
Martyn Jones01/07/1993Clwyd South WestSigned
Audrey Wise22/07/1993PrestonSigned
Kate HoeyUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.