Parliament Website

Conduct Of The Rt Hon Member For Copeland

EDM number 1508 in 1993-94, proposed by Quentin Davies on 13/07/1994.

That this House condemns the Right honourable Member for Copeland for stating during the second reading of the European Union (Accession) Bill that he had 'shown constant support for the European Union', Official Report, column 700, and that whilst the Labour Party had changed on Europe his position had never changed; and notes that in October 1971 he voted against the principle of Britain's entry to the EEC when 69 of his honourable Friends, including the late John Smith, defied the Labour whip and voted in favour, that in February 1972 he voted against the European Communities Bill and that in April 1986 he voted against the Single European Act, along with the honourable Member for Sedgefield.

This motion has been signed by a total of 8 MPs.

Quentin Davies13/07/1994Stamford and SpaldingProposed
Alan Duncan13/07/1994Rutland & MeltonSigned
Anthony Durant13/07/1994Reading WestSigned
Michael Fabricant13/07/1994Staffordshire MidSigned
John Sykes13/07/1994ScarboroughSigned
David Nicholson14/07/1994TauntonSigned
Nigel Waterson15/07/1994EastbourneSigned
Phil Gallie18/07/1994AyrSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.