Parliament Website

Thorp And The Future

EDM number 755 in 1993-94, proposed by Simon Hughes on 04/03/1994.

That this House notes with disappointment the 4th March judgment of the High Court which will allow BNFL to commission the THORP nuclear waste reprocessing plant at Sellafield; salutes Greenpeace, Lancashire County Council and all those who have campaigned against nuclear reprocessing in general and THORP in particular; believes that, notwithstanding this judgement, history will judge THORP to be a very expensive British economic mistake and an internationally dangerous and foolish environmental decision; and is resolved to go on challenging any Government decisions and policies which put at greater risk the sustainability and future of the planet.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Simon Hughes04/03/1994Southwark and BermondseyProposed
Llew Smith04/03/1994Blaenau GwentSigned
John Gunnell07/03/1994Leeds South and MorleySigned
Matthew Taylor07/03/1994TruroSigned
Alan Beith07/03/1994Berwick-upon-TweedSigned
Don Foster07/03/1994BathSigned
Jim Dowd07/03/1994Lewisham WestSigned
Eric Clarke07/03/1994MidlothianSigned
Alan Meale07/03/1994MansfieldSigned
Ken Livingstone07/03/1994Brent EastSigned
Lynne Jones07/03/1994Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Alice Mahon08/03/1994HalifaxSigned
Alan Wynne Williams08/03/1994CarmarthenSigned
Paul Tyler08/03/1994North CornwallSigned
Harry Barnes08/03/1994North East DerbyshireSigned
Tony Banks08/03/1994Newham North WestSigned
Terry Davis08/03/1994Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Michael Connarty08/03/1994Falkirk EastSigned
Malcolm Chisholm08/03/1994Edinburgh LeithSigned
Alex Carlile08/03/1994MontgomerySigned
Liz Lynne08/03/1994RochdaleSigned
Roy Hughes08/03/1994Newport EastSigned
Keith Bradley09/03/1994Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Jim Wallace09/03/1994Orkney & ShetlandSigned
David Alton09/03/1994Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
Margaret Ewing09/03/1994MoraySigned
Michael Clapham09/03/1994Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
John Heppell09/03/1994Nottingham EastSigned
Colin Pickthall09/03/1994West LancashireSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/03/1994Islington NorthSigned
Andrew Faulds10/03/1994Warley EastSigned
John Battle10/03/1994Leeds WestSigned
Bill Etherington10/03/1994Sunderland NorthSigned
John Denham10/03/1994Southampton, ItchenSigned
Ian Davidson10/03/1994Glasgow, GovanSigned
Richard Burden10/03/1994Birmingham, NorthfieldSigned
Rhodri Morgan10/03/1994Cardiff WestSigned
Nigel Jones10/03/1994CheltenhamSigned
Terry Patchett10/03/1994Barnsley EastSigned
David Rendel11/03/1994NewburySigned
Diana Maddock11/03/1994ChristchurchSigned
Neil Gerrard11/03/1994WalthamstowSigned
Malcolm Bruce14/03/1994GordonSigned
Eddie McGrady15/03/1994South DownSigned
Elfyn Llwyd16/03/1994Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Alan Simpson17/03/1994Nottingham SouthSigned
Peter Hain21/03/1994NeathSigned
Martyn Jones22/03/1994Clwyd South WestSigned
Dafydd Wigley15/04/1994CaernarfonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.