Parliament Website

Closure Of The Wales Office Of The Geological Survey

EDM number 82 in 1993-94, proposed by Ieuan Wyn Jones on 24/11/1993.

That this House notes with dismay the proposal to close the Wales office of the Geological Survey at Aberystwyth while maintaining offices in both Scotland and Northern Ireland; notes the necessity of retaining and further developing in Wales a comprehensive archive and data-base on the geology of Wales together with the team expertise to provide high-quality interpretation of the information stored there; notes that this information is vital in making decisions in areas like mineral extraction, land-use, resource management, waste disposal, water and energy generation, and as such is an invaluable Welsh resource; notes that the closure of the Wales office and the disposal of its scientific staff would in effect destroy this resource; and calls upon the Secretary of State for Wales to intervene so as to prevent the implementation of the proposed closure.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Ieuan Wyn Jones24/11/1993Ynys MProposed
Rhodri Morgan24/11/1993Cardiff WestSigned
Paul Flynn24/11/1993Newport WestSigned
Frank Cook24/11/1993Stockton NorthSigned
Colin Pickthall25/11/1993West LancashireSigned
Dafydd Wigley25/11/1993CaernarfonSigned
Gareth Wardell25/11/1993GowerSigned
Harry Barnes25/11/1993North East DerbyshireSigned
Tony Banks25/11/1993Newham North WestSigned
Alex Carlile25/11/1993MontgomerySigned
Bill Michie25/11/1993Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/11/1993Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Ken Livingstone25/11/1993Brent EastSigned
Nigel Jones25/11/1993CheltenhamSigned
Lynne Jones25/11/1993Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Barry Jones25/11/1993Alyn & DeesideSigned
Roy Hughes25/11/1993Newport EastSigned
Audrey Wise26/11/1993PrestonSigned
Michael Connarty29/11/1993Falkirk EastSigned
Jack Thompson30/11/1993WansbeckSigned
Win Griffiths30/11/1993BridgendSigned
Simon Hughes30/11/1993Southwark and BermondseySigned
Mike Hall30/11/1993Warrington SouthSigned
David Hanson01/12/1993DelynSigned
Kim Howells01/12/1993PontypriddSigned
Michael Clapham01/12/1993Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Denzil Davies06/12/1993LlanelliSigned
John Morris08/12/1993AberavonSigned
Roland Boyes08/12/1993Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Nick Ainger08/12/1993PembrokeSigned
Alan Williams08/12/1993Swansea WestSigned
Peter Hain09/12/1993NeathSigned
Alan Wynne Williams09/12/1993CarmarthenSigned
Donald Anderson09/12/1993Swansea EastSigned
Neil Kinnock10/12/1993IslwynSigned
Martyn Jones14/12/1993Clwyd South WestSigned
Ted Rowlands15/12/1993Merthyr Tydfil & RhymneySigned
Andrew Miller16/12/1993Ellesmere Port & NestonSigned
Mike Gapes17/12/1993Ilford SouthSigned
Raymond Powell11/01/1994OgmoreSigned
Ann Clwyd11/01/1994Cynon ValleySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.