Parliament Website

Local Authority Race Award

EDM number 833 in 1993-94, proposed by Joan Ruddock on 11/03/1994.

That this House welcomes the initiative of the Commission for Racial Equality in establishing the Local Authority Race Award, sponsored by the Local Government Chronicle and the Society of Local Authority Chief Executives, to give formal recognition to local authorities for excellence and innovation in the provision of their services to diverse communities, and the promotion of racial equality; applauds the fact that 35 local authorities participated in the inaugural scheme and warmly congratulates the shortlisted authorities, Avon County and Bristol City, Bradford, Waltham Forest and Lewisham; and in particular congratulates the London Borough of Southwark, the first winner of the new award, for its policy on racial harassment, which has led to a range of victim support and community safety schemes and legal action against the perpetrators of racial harassment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Joan Ruddock11/03/1994Lewisham, DeptfordProposed
Max Madden14/03/1994Bradford WestSigned
Harry Barnes14/03/1994North East DerbyshireSigned
Jim Dowd14/03/1994Lewisham WestSigned
John Cummings14/03/1994EasingtonSigned
Tom Cox14/03/1994TootingSigned
Eric Clarke14/03/1994MidlothianSigned
Alan Meale14/03/1994MansfieldSigned
William McKelvey14/03/1994Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion14/03/1994Dundee EastSigned
Lynne Jones14/03/1994Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Peter Hardy14/03/1994WentworthSigned
Ernie Ross14/03/1994Dundee WestSigned
Bridget Prentice14/03/1994Lewisham EastSigned
Mike Watson15/03/1994Glasgow CentralSigned
Norman Godman15/03/1994Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Neil Gerrard15/03/1994WalthamstowSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie15/03/1994Glasgow, PollokSigned
Michael Connarty15/03/1994Falkirk EastSigned
Keith Bradley15/03/1994Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Ian McCartney15/03/1994MakerfieldSigned
Eddie Loyden15/03/1994Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Eric Illsley15/03/1994Barnsley CentralSigned
Peter Pike15/03/1994BurnleySigned
Colin Pickthall15/03/1994West LancashireSigned
Bill Michie15/03/1994Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Joan Walley16/03/1994Stoke-on-Trent NorthSigned
Keith Vaz16/03/1994Leicester EastSigned
Mike Hall16/03/1994Warrington SouthSigned
John Gunnell16/03/1994Leeds South and MorleySigned
Win Griffiths16/03/1994BridgendSigned
John Heppell16/03/1994Nottingham EastSigned
Greg Pope16/03/1994HyndburnSigned
Anne Campbell17/03/1994CambridgeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/03/1994Islington NorthSigned
Derek Enright17/03/1994HemsworthSigned
Tony Banks17/03/1994Newham North WestSigned
Paddy Tipping17/03/1994SherwoodSigned
Barbara Roche18/03/1994Hornsey & Wood GreenSigned
Harriet Harman21/03/1994PeckhamSigned
Martyn Jones22/03/1994Clwyd South WestSigned
Ken Livingstone23/03/1994Brent EastSigned
Andrew Faulds23/03/1994Warley EastSigned
Bill Etherington24/03/1994Sunderland NorthSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/1994Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.