Parliament Website

Labour Controlled Monklands District Council

EDM number 1277 in 1994-95, proposed by David Shaw on 20/06/1995.

That this House is appalled by the findings of Professor Robert Black's investigation into the affairs of Labour controlled Monklands District Council; notes the report concludes that there have been unfair spending distortions between Catholic Coatbridge and the Protestant town of Airdrie, unfair employment practices which led to 68 relatives of councillors being employed by the council; further notes that the report concluded that more than 30 employees of the council were prominent Labour Party members who obtained jobs and promotions for which they lacked the required qualifications and abilities, that Labour councillors had their houses repaired ahead of ordinary tenants and arranged preferential allocation of council houses for Labour Party members ahead of the homeless, disabled and the sick; and believes this to be the worst example of nepotism and political corruption and political bias in the history of local government in the United Kingdom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Shaw20/06/1995DoverProposed
Alan Duncan20/06/1995Rutland & MeltonSigned
Eric Pickles20/06/1995Brentwood & OngarSigned
Harold Elletson20/06/1995Blackpool NorthSigned
Phil Gallie20/06/1995AyrSigned
Teresa Gorman20/06/1995BillericaySigned
David Ashby20/06/1995North West LeicestershireSigned
David Atkinson20/06/1995Bournemouth EastSigned
Peter Atkinson20/06/1995HexhamSigned
Spencer Batiste20/06/1995ElmetSigned
Michael Stephen20/06/1995ShorehamSigned
Michael Stern20/06/1995Bristol North WestSigned
Allan Stewart20/06/1995Renfrewshire EastSigned
David Sumberg20/06/1995Bury SouthSigned
Walter Sweeney20/06/1995Vale of GlamorganSigned
John Sykes20/06/1995ScarboroughSigned
Roy Thomason20/06/1995BromsgroveSigned
Peter Thurnham20/06/1995Bolton North EastSigned
Richard Tracey20/06/1995SurbitonSigned
Neville Trotter20/06/1995TynemouthSigned
Ian Twinn20/06/1995EdmontonSigned
Bill Walker20/06/1995North TaysideSigned
Nigel Waterson20/06/1995EastbourneSigned
Ann Winterton20/06/1995CongletonSigned
Nicholas Winterton20/06/1995MacclesfieldSigned
Mark Wolfson20/06/1995SevenoaksSigned
Den Dover20/06/1995ChorleySigned
Graham Riddick20/06/1995Colne ValleySigned
Marion Roe20/06/1995BroxbourneSigned
Giles Shaw20/06/1995PudseySigned
James Spicer20/06/1995West DorsetSigned
Andrew Hargreaves20/06/1995Birmingham, Hall GreenSigned
Nick Hawkins20/06/1995Blackpool SouthSigned
Robert Hughes20/06/1995Harrow WestSigned
Bernard Jenkin20/06/1995Colchester NorthSigned
Toby Jessel20/06/1995TwickenhamSigned
Olga Maitland20/06/1995Sutton & CheamSigned
David Mitchell20/06/1995North West HampshireSigned
Fergus Montgomery20/06/1995Altrincham and SaleSigned
David Nicholson20/06/1995TauntonSigned
Iain Duncan Smith20/06/1995ChingfordSigned
Nirj Deva20/06/1995Brentford & IsleworthSigned
Stephen Day20/06/1995CheadleSigned
Anthony Coombs20/06/1995Wyre ForestSigned
David Congdon20/06/1995Croydon North EastSigned
Geoffrey Clifton-Brown20/06/1995Cirencester and TewkesburySigned
Bill Cash20/06/1995StaffordSigned
Michael Brown20/06/1995Brigg and CleethorpesSigned
Julian Brazier20/06/1995CanterburySigned
Rhodes Boyson20/06/1995Brent NorthSigned
Michael Neubert20/06/1995RomfordSigned
John Carlisle21/06/1995Luton NorthSigned
George Gardiner21/06/1995ReigateSigned
Harry Greenway21/06/1995Ealing NorthSigned
David Trimble21/06/1995Upper BannSigned
William Powell28/06/1995CorbySigned
Michael Fabricant29/06/1995Staffordshire MidSigned
Patrick McLoughlinUnknownWithdrawn
Nicholas BonsorUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.