Parliament Website

Nobel Peace Prize, Professor Joseph Rotblat And Nuclear Disarmament

EDM number 1462 in 1994-95, proposed by Llew Smith on 16/10/1995.

That this House offers with great pleasure its congratulations to Professor Joseph Rotblat for his award of the Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of his half century of campaigning against nuclear weapons; notes that he was the world's first anti-nuclear weapons scientist, having resigned from the Manhattan atomic bomb project in 1944 on recognising then that the main aim of the bomb was to give the United States nuclear advantage in the Cold War, rather than to confront Nazi aggression; strongly supports the excellent work for nuclear disarmament worldwide done by the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs since its foundation in 1956 by Professor Rotblat and other nuclear scientists concerned about the deadly dangers of nuclear technology; recalls Professor Rotblat's principled opposition to THORP at Sellafield due to its proliferation risks; fully supports his and Pugwash's aims to encourage young people to question and understand the implications of new technology and scientific discoveries; thanks him for his public opposition to nuclear testing; and agrees with the conclusion of his latest study for Pugwash that Britain can and should get rid of all its nuclear weapons.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Llew Smith16/10/1995Blaenau GwentProposed
Roy Hughes16/10/1995Newport EastSigned
Alice Mahon16/10/1995HalifaxSigned
Ann Clwyd16/10/1995Cynon ValleySigned
Harry Cohen16/10/1995LeytonSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/10/1995Islington NorthSigned
Neil Gerrard16/10/1995WalthamstowSigned
Diane Abbott16/10/1995Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
Tony Benn16/10/1995ChesterfieldSigned
Dennis Skinner17/10/1995BolsoverSigned
Paddy Tipping17/10/1995SherwoodSigned
Harry Barnes17/10/1995North East DerbyshireSigned
Norman Godman17/10/1995Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Malcolm Chisholm17/10/1995Edinburgh LeithSigned
Richard Burden17/10/1995Birmingham, NorthfieldSigned
Bill Michie17/10/1995Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Lynne Jones17/10/1995Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Robert Parry17/10/1995Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Colin Pickthall17/10/1995West LancashireSigned
Ken Livingstone18/10/1995Brent EastSigned
Jack Thompson18/10/1995WansbeckSigned
Nick Ainger18/10/1995PembrokeSigned
John Evans18/10/1995St Helens NorthSigned
Jean Corston18/10/1995Bristol EastSigned
Helen Jackson18/10/1995Sheffield, HillsboroughSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie18/10/1995Glasgow, PollokSigned
Roger Godsiff19/10/1995Birmingham Small HeathSigned
Win Griffiths19/10/1995BridgendSigned
Michael Connarty19/10/1995Falkirk EastSigned
Michael Clapham19/10/1995Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/10/1995Blyth ValleySigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/10/1995Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Piara S Khabra19/10/1995Ealing, SouthallSigned
Andrew Faulds20/10/1995Warley EastSigned
Eddie Loyden23/10/1995Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Terry Davis24/10/1995Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Tony Banks25/10/1995Newham North WestSigned
Eric Illsley26/10/1995Barnsley CentralSigned
Audrey Wise01/11/1995PrestonSigned
Simon Hughes07/11/1995Southwark and BermondseySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.