Parliament Website

Conduct Of The Honourable Member For South Norfolk, The Royal Mail And Hill Samuel

EDM number 384 in 1994-95, proposed by Brian Wilson on 13/01/1995.

That this House notes with interest that the honourable Member for South Norfolk, who was until recently Secretary of State for Transport and responsible for imposing the policy of rail privatisation, is Deputy Chairman of Hill Samuel; further notes that Hill Samuel is the merchant bank appointed to advise on the sale of Rail Express Systems, a division of British Rail, which carries nearly a quarter of the Royal Mail's letter mail; and considers that the subsequent business interests of former Ministers is a suitable matter for inquiry by the Nolan Committee.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Brian Wilson13/01/1995Cunninghame NorthProposed
Bridget Prentice16/01/1995Lewisham EastSigned
Harry Barnes16/01/1995North East DerbyshireSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie16/01/1995Glasgow, PollokSigned
Jim Dowd16/01/1995Lewisham WestSigned
John Cummings16/01/1995EasingtonSigned
William McKelvey16/01/1995Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Ian McCartney16/01/1995MakerfieldSigned
John McAllion16/01/1995Dundee EastSigned
Dennis Skinner16/01/1995BolsoverSigned
Ernie Ross16/01/1995Dundee WestSigned
Hugh Bayley17/01/1995York, City ofSigned
Win Griffiths17/01/1995BridgendSigned
Norman Godman17/01/1995Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
John Evans17/01/1995St Helens NorthSigned
Jean Corston17/01/1995Bristol EastSigned
Michael Connarty17/01/1995Falkirk EastSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/01/1995Blyth ValleySigned
Keith Bradley17/01/1995Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Bill Michie17/01/1995Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Alice Mahon17/01/1995HalifaxSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/01/1995Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Ken Livingstone17/01/1995Brent EastSigned
Lynne Jones17/01/1995Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Barry Jones17/01/1995Alyn & DeesideSigned
John Heppell17/01/1995Nottingham EastSigned
Clive Soley17/01/1995HammersmithSigned
Mike O'Brien17/01/1995North WarwickshireSigned
Eric Martlew17/01/1995CarlisleSigned
Glenda Jackson18/01/1995Hampstead & HighgateSigned
Mike Hall18/01/1995Warrington SouthSigned
Clive Betts18/01/1995Sheffield, AttercliffeSigned
Gerry Steinberg18/01/1995Durham, City ofSigned
John Denham19/01/1995Southampton, ItchenSigned
John Gunnell19/01/1995Leeds South and MorleySigned
Bill Etherington19/01/1995Sunderland NorthSigned
Eric Illsley19/01/1995Barnsley CentralSigned
Greg Pope20/01/1995HyndburnSigned
Andrew MacKinlay20/01/1995ThurrockSigned
John McFall23/01/1995DumbartonSigned
Martyn Jones24/01/1995Clwyd South WestSigned
Jack Thompson25/01/1995WansbeckSigned
Alan Simpson26/01/1995Nottingham SouthSigned
Tommy Graham26/01/1995Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Jimmy Hood02/02/1995ClydesdaleSigned
Roland Boyes02/02/1995Houghton and WashingtonSigned
George Galloway09/02/1995Glasgow HillheadSigned
Eddie Loyden14/02/1995Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours16/02/1995WorkingtonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.