Parliament Website

Conduct Of The Honourable Member For Bexhill And Battle

EDM number 603 in 1994-95, proposed by Diane Abbott on 13/02/1995.

That this House regrets that the honourable Member for Bexhill and Battle has chosen to bring race and immigration into the political debate about the European Union; believes that if there is a problem with Europe's external borders he should be addressing that; believes his assertion that freedom of movement for European nationals within the European Union must necessarily result in more illegal immigration to the United Kingdom is demonstrably false; and calls on him to find some other, and less irresponsible way to get his name in the papers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Diane Abbott13/02/1995Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonProposed
Lynne Jones14/02/1995Birmingham, Selly OakSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn14/02/1995Islington NorthSeconded
Keith Vaz14/02/1995Leicester EastSeconded
Glenda Jackson14/02/1995Hampstead & HighgateSeconded
Bill Michie14/02/1995Sheffield, HeeleySeconded
Colin Pickthall14/02/1995West LancashireSigned
Eddie Loyden14/02/1995Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Jim Dowd14/02/1995Lewisham WestSigned
Tony Banks14/02/1995Newham North WestSigned
Harry Barnes14/02/1995North East DerbyshireSigned
Hugh Bayley14/02/1995York, City ofSigned
Jack Thompson15/02/1995WansbeckSigned
Mike Hall15/02/1995Warrington SouthSigned
Norman Godman15/02/1995Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
John Evans15/02/1995St Helens NorthSigned
Michael Clapham15/02/1995Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Malcolm Chisholm15/02/1995Edinburgh LeithSigned
Richard Burden15/02/1995Birmingham, NorthfieldSigned
Denis MacShane15/02/1995RotherhamSigned
Ken Livingstone15/02/1995Brent EastSigned
Norman Hogg15/02/1995Cumbernauld & KilsythSigned
Dennis Skinner15/02/1995BolsoverSigned
Alex Salmond15/02/1995Banff & BuchanSigned
Ian McCartney15/02/1995MakerfieldSigned
Neil Gerrard16/02/1995WalthamstowSigned
Win Griffiths17/02/1995BridgendSigned
Alan Simpson21/02/1995Nottingham SouthSigned
Andrew Faulds21/02/1995Warley EastSigned
Ieuan Wyn Jones22/02/1995Ynys MSigned
Ronnie Campbell22/02/1995Blyth ValleySigned
Audrey Wise22/02/1995PrestonSigned
Martyn Jones01/03/1995Clwyd South WestSigned
Tommy Graham20/03/1995Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Janet Anderson27/03/1995Rossendale & DarwenSigned
Clare Short11/05/1995Birmingham, LadywoodSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.