Parliament Website

Un International Day Of Memory

EDM number 756 in 1995-96, proposed by Jack Thompson on 18/04/1996.

That this House congratulates the United Nations on declaring Friday 26th April the International Day of Memory as the tenth anniversary of the Chernobyl accident; recalls the devastating effect of this incident upon thousands of people throughout not only the Ukraine and Belarus, but also in many other parts of Europe; expects the United Kingdom Government to offer further assistance to minimise the after-effects of the disaster, in providing both medical and technical assistance; and recognises the horrendous outcome of accidents in the high risk nuclear power industry which warrants greater protection for the population of the United Kingdom than provided at present.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Jack Thompson18/04/1996WansbeckProposed
David Clelland18/04/1996Tyne BridgeSigned
Donald Dixon18/04/1996JarrowSigned
Tom Cox19/04/1996TootingSigned
Ken Livingstone22/04/1996Brent EastSigned
Harry Barnes22/04/1996North East DerbyshireSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe22/04/1996LeighSigned
William McKelvey22/04/1996Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion22/04/1996Dundee EastSigned
Liz Lynne22/04/1996RochdaleSigned
Lynne Jones22/04/1996Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Barry Jones22/04/1996Alyn & DeesideSigned
Peter Hardy22/04/1996WentworthSigned
Ernie Ross22/04/1996Dundee WestSigned
Robert Parry22/04/1996Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Hugh Bayley23/04/1996York, City ofSigned
Robert Wareing23/04/1996Liverpool, West DerbySigned
John Evans23/04/1996St Helens NorthSigned
Kenneth Eastham23/04/1996Manchester, BlackleySigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/04/1996Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Eric Illsley23/04/1996Barnsley CentralSigned
Dennis Skinner23/04/1996BolsoverSigned
Colin Pickthall23/04/1996West LancashireSigned
Bill Michie23/04/1996Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Mike Hall24/04/1996Warrington SouthSigned
Norman Godman24/04/1996Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/1996Newport WestSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/04/1996Islington NorthSigned
Eric Clarke24/04/1996MidlothianSigned
James Callaghan24/04/1996Heywood & MiddletonSigned
Alan Meale24/04/1996MansfieldSigned
Denis MacShane24/04/1996RotherhamSigned
Michael Connarty24/04/1996Falkirk EastSigned
Michael Clapham25/04/1996Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Win Griffiths25/04/1996BridgendSigned
Tony Banks25/04/1996Newham North WestSigned
Peter Pike29/04/1996BurnleySigned
Martyn Jones30/04/1996Clwyd South WestSigned
Keith Bradley30/04/1996Manchester, WithingtonSigned
John Gunnell30/04/1996Leeds South and MorleySigned
Audrey Wise30/04/1996PrestonSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours02/05/1996WorkingtonSigned
Bill Etherington09/05/1996Sunderland NorthSigned
Ann Clwyd10/05/1996Cynon ValleySigned
Don Touhig15/05/1996IslwynSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.