Parliament Website

RB Cunninghame Graham

EDM number 1168 in 2015-16, proposed by Roger Mullin on 01/03/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Members of Parliament.

That this House remembers RB Cunninghame Graham who was first elected to Parliament in 1886 and who died on 20 March 1936; notes that he was a Scottish politician, writer, journalist and adventurer, that he entered Parliament as a radical Liberal Party member standing on a platform of the abolition of the House of Lords, Scottish Home Rule, universal suffrage and an eight-hour working day, that he was suspended from the House in December 1888 for protesting about the working conditions of chain-makers and that his response to the Speaker of the House, "I never withdraw" was used later by George Bernard Shaw in Arms and the Man; and further notes that he became the first-ever socialist hon. Member of Parliament, first president of the Scottish Labour Party, a founder member of the National Party of Scotland in 1928 and first president of the Scottish National Party in 1934.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Roger Mullin01/03/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartyProposed
George Kerevan01/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows01/03/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier01/03/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell01/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan01/03/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally01/03/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford01/03/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson01/03/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray01/03/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig01/03/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown01/03/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson01/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day01/03/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry01/03/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan01/03/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil01/03/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards02/03/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Douglas Chapman02/03/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley02/03/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady02/03/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty03/03/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald03/03/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry03/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/03/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson08/03/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald09/03/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara10/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens10/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh21/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands21/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Deidre Brock11/04/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin11/05/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.