Parliament Website

Office Of The Scottish Charity Regulator 10th Anniversary

EDM number 1433 in 2015-16, proposed by Martin Docherty on 27/04/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Charities and Regulation.

That this House congratulates the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR) as it celebrates its 10th anniversary and notes that throughout its time as Scotland's charity regulator, its focus has been on targeting its effort and resources on maintaining the public's confidence in charities; acknowledges that work continues as the regulator reshapes its processes and structures, and works with Scottish Government, third sector organisations and support groups to ensure that charity law and regulation continue to meet expectations; notes that in 2007, 20.4 per cent of Scottish charities with an income under £25,000 and 66.2 per cent of charities over £25,000 met OSCR requirements in the preparation of accounts; further notes that in 2015-16, the figures were 78 per cent and 83 per cent respectively, showing that the OSCR has driven up governance standards; and recognises that its work in reorganising charities has released £40 million back to Scotland's charity sector and since 2006 has registered 9,102 new charities, granted consent to 8,450 changes to charities and handled 2,633 concerns about charities and in 2015 granted charitable status to 918 charities, up 22 per cent on the previous year.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Martin Docherty27/04/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartyProposed
Stewart Hosie27/04/2016Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law27/04/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock27/04/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Corri Wilson27/04/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan27/04/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Gethins27/04/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands27/04/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant27/04/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr27/04/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens27/04/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows27/04/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day27/04/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray27/04/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson27/04/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black27/04/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry27/04/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald27/04/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Angus Robertson27/04/2016MorayScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford27/04/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron27/04/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan27/04/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald27/04/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell27/04/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig27/04/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart27/04/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir27/04/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry27/04/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell27/04/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford27/04/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard27/04/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh27/04/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry27/04/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson27/04/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady28/04/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin28/04/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon28/04/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ian Blackford28/04/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson04/05/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown09/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald10/05/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman11/05/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss11/05/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin11/05/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.