Parliament Website

Strategic Defence And Security Review

EDM number 508 in 2015-16, proposed by Brendan O'Hara on 13/10/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Defence policy.

That this House commends the report by Saferworld, The 2015 UK Strategic Defence and Security Review and beyond, published in October 2015, which welcomes the upcoming SDSR as an opportunity to rebalance the armed forces following the mistakes of the 2010 review; calls on the Government to ensure that this review gives the UK a military focussed on preventing conflict and addressing the underlying issues which lead to conflict, upholds the principle of aid given according to need, rather than strategic concerns, and shows consistency in defence policy and practice, with a more strategically-coherent, sensibly-structured military; and further calls for long-term discussions on how the UK can better promote security and stability worldwide.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Brendan O'Hara13/10/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartyProposed
Martyn Day14/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford14/10/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan14/10/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Richard Arkless14/10/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh14/10/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry14/10/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron14/10/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown14/10/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas19/10/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Chris Law20/10/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray20/10/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin21/10/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman21/10/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/10/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan22/10/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson22/10/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss22/10/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady22/10/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson22/10/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams23/10/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Owen Thompson23/10/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins26/10/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock29/10/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black29/10/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.