Parliament Website

Neilston War Memorial Association

EDM number 675 in 2015-16, proposed by Kirsten Oswald on 09/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Art works, Cultural heritage, Military operations and Veterans.

That this House commends the work of the Neilston War Memorial Association which culminated on 7 November 2015 in the dedication of the long-awaited Neilston War Memorial commemorating the sacrifice made by 218 local residents of the village and surrounding areas since World War One; notes that prior to the dedication of this memorial Neilston was one of the few villages in Scotland with no designated memorial to honour its war dead; congratulates the team that delivered a sustained and successful fundraising campaign to erect the magnificent new memorial featuring a unique spinner's cross, designed by celebrated war artist, Tom McKendrick, and the many businesses, organisations and individuals who contributed time or money to support this effort; acknowledges the efforts of Neilston War Memorial Association to engage all sectors of the community in their work, including local primary and secondary school pupils, such as St Thomas' Primary School pupil Kyla Fergus and St Luke's High School's Joseph Kearney who contributed award-winning designs for the memorial; and recognises that the memorial has already increased awareness of the sacrifice made by those who gave their today for our tomorrow and that it is fitting it should do so for many years to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Kirsten Oswald09/11/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartyProposed
Brendan O'Hara09/11/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman09/11/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Angus Robertson09/11/2015MorayScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day09/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
George Kerevan09/11/2015East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Callum McCaig09/11/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin09/11/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman09/11/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown09/11/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford09/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson10/11/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Patrick Grady10/11/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law10/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford10/11/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray10/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry10/11/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black10/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon10/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson10/11/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Steven Paterson16/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens16/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson16/11/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh23/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson24/11/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.