Parliament Website

Lords Spiritual And Scottish Debates And Votes

EDM number 952 in 2015-16, proposed by Martin Docherty on 13/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Parliamentary procedure and Members of the Lords.

That this House calls on the following 26 Bishops of the Church of England as Lords Spiritual of the House of Lords to desist in debating and voting on Scottish legislation; further calls on the Archbishop of Canterbury, Archbishop of York, Bishop of London, Bishop of Durham, Bishop of Winchester, Bishop of Chester, Bishop of Norwich, Bishop of Bristol, Bishop of Derby, Bishop of Birmingham, Bishop of Worcester, Bishop of Coventry, Bishop of Truro, Bishop of Sheffield, Bishop of St Albans, Bishop of Carlisle, Bishop of Peterborough, Bishop of Portsmouth, Bishop of Chelmsford, Bishop of Rochester, Bishop of Ely, Bishop of Southwark, Bishop of Leeds, Bishop of Salisbury, Bishop of Gloucester and Bishop of Newcastle to recognise the grave concern in Scotland at their involvement in the legislative process as unelected peers; and believes that the Church of England should curtail its interference in the affairs of the community of Scotland as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Martin Docherty13/01/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartyProposed
Patrick Grady13/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day13/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan13/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law13/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Pete Wishart13/01/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Owen Thompson13/01/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson13/01/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown13/01/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin13/01/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray13/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford13/01/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond13/01/2016Signed
Phil Boswell13/01/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson13/01/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless13/01/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin13/01/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson13/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/01/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman13/01/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford13/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson13/01/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards13/01/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Calum Kerr13/01/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier13/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan13/01/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara13/01/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock13/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman13/01/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands13/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson13/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig13/01/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows13/01/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss13/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron13/01/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh13/01/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley13/01/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan13/01/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie13/01/2016Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson13/01/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard13/01/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry14/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil14/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald14/01/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts14/01/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Joanna Cherry18/01/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black18/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.