Parliament Website

West Kilbride Best Village High Street

EDM number 982 in 2015-16, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 20/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Regional planning and development and Service industries.

That this House congratulates West Kilbride for being recognised as the Best Village High Street in 2015 at the Great British High Street Awards; applauds what has been a remarkable turnaround for a village that had in times past been the victim of an economic downturn; recognises the significant efforts made by groups such as West Kilbride Community Initiative Ltd, a group made up of local volunteers who have shared their desire to encourage rejuvenation in their regional area, for helping to reverse the fortunes of West Kilbride; acknowledges that such efforts have seen the village designated Scotland's only Craft and Design Town, the establishment of its own environmental group, the construction of a network of gardens and pathways, and the revolution of retail spaces on the local high street to support burgeoning projects and businesses, including craft shops, artist studios and galleries to name only a few; considers the achievement by West Kilbride particularly noteworthy given that 230 high streets entered the competition in total and is looking forward to seeing West Kilbride prosper in years to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Patricia Gibson20/01/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Kirsten Oswald20/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin20/01/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan20/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier20/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law20/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford20/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir20/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Angus Robertson20/01/2016MorayScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan20/01/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond20/01/2016Signed
Lisa Cameron20/01/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman20/01/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford20/01/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss20/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray20/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman20/01/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson20/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/01/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands20/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan21/01/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson25/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil25/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens26/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady27/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.