Parliament Website

10 Years Of SNP Government

EDM number 1195 in 2016-17, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 26/04/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Political parties and Scottish Parliament.

That this House notes the 10th anniversary of the SNP forming its first Scottish Government, led by Alex Salmond, following its victory in the Scottish Parliament elections held on 4 May 2007; further notes this first SNP administration established the Scottish Government out of the existing Scottish Executive and gave the nation fresh leadership by abolishing tuition fees and prescription charges, protecting free personal care for the elderly and introducing world-leading targets to reduce carbon emissions; believes Scotland has become a better place to live under SNP administrations with record health and schools funding, the expansion of free high-quality childcare, the lowest council tax regime across the UK and the building of over 60,000 affordable homes; is proud that SNP governments have brought more jobs for people of Scotland, secured a future for Scottish steel, aluminium and shipbuilding, given 16 and 17-year olds the right to vote and made Scotland the top rated country in Europe for LGBTI equality and human rights; and notes the first SNP administration’s record was endorsed by the Scottish electorate which returned the SNP to government with a majority following the 2011 Scottish Parliament elections after which it gave the people of Scotland a choice over their future with the 2014 Independence Referendum which led to an historic third term for an SNP Government under the leadership of Nicola Sturgeon and to the SNP winning 56 out of 59 seats at the last General Election, giving Scotland a strong voice at Westminster.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Stephen Gethins26/04/2017North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Angus Robertson26/04/2017MorayScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady26/04/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh26/04/2017Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Eilidh Whiteford26/04/2017Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Weir26/04/2017AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin26/04/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr26/04/2017Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan26/04/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan26/04/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally26/04/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin26/04/2017Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald26/04/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald26/04/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig26/04/2017Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil26/04/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/04/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart26/04/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands26/04/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson26/04/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara26/04/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald26/04/2017East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson26/04/2017StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard26/04/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens26/04/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson26/04/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss26/04/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson26/04/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford26/04/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan26/04/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless26/04/2017Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell26/04/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black26/04/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford26/04/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman26/04/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell26/04/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock26/04/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown26/04/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron26/04/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman26/04/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry26/04/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan26/04/2017East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley26/04/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day26/04/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty26/04/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson26/04/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows26/04/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier26/04/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson26/04/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant26/04/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray26/04/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry26/04/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie26/04/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.