Parliament Website

Role Of Scotland's First Minister In Appointment Of A New Commissioner

EDM number 250 in 2016-17, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 28/06/2016.
Categorised under the topics of EU law and treaties, European Commission and Scottish Parliament.

That this House notes the decision of Lord Hill, the UK Commissioner, to resign his post in the aftermath of the EU referendum; commends him for his work and for having taken this difficult but principled decision in the light of the result; further notes the decision of the people of Scotland to remain in the EU by an overwhelming majority and in every single local authority area; and calls on the Prime Minister to give the First Minister of Scotland a full say over the appointment of Lord Hill's replacement so that Scotland's views are fully represented in the Commission during this important transition period, and so that the Commissioner can work in cooperation with the Scottish and UK Governments to ensure that they are represented as Westminster negotiates withdrawal and the Scottish Government negotiates Scotland's continued EU membership.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Stephen Gethins28/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Michael Weir28/06/2016AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Lisa Cameron28/06/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald28/06/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry28/06/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart Donaldson28/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford28/06/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman28/06/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day28/06/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry28/06/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard28/06/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray28/06/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara28/06/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty28/06/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford28/06/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black28/06/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier28/06/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady28/06/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh28/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan28/06/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan28/06/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss28/06/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson28/06/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald28/06/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley28/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally28/06/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant28/06/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown28/06/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie28/06/2016Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson28/06/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry28/06/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands28/06/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald28/06/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell28/06/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens29/06/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards29/06/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Owen Thompson04/07/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law04/07/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/07/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows04/07/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson06/07/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell06/07/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin12/07/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin13/07/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.